CADMAKERS VIRTUAL CONSTRUCTION

建筑、工程与施工

  • 挑战

    CadMakers Virtual Construction的应用目标是通过计算实践、施工前的模拟和协调为建筑、工程和施工等行业推进虚拟设计与施工的范围;以及通过数字化的建筑生命周期管理,实现多建筑系统的预制和资产的优化。

  • 解决方案

    CadMakers采用包括CATIA、DELMIA和ENOVIA等应用程序在内的3DEXPERIENCE平台云端版,创建和共享集成的3D建筑模型。

  • 结果

    借助云端版的3DEXPERIENCE平台,CadMakers增添了优越的目测能力,有助于识别建筑系统设计中的冲突,也同时通过过程模拟缩短施工的时长。CATIA的用户定义特征和脚本支持CadMakers在施工过程中采用制造效率。

更智能的建筑

CadMakers Virtual Construction了解到,与建筑的维护相比,建筑的施工仅占总拥有成本的一小部分。CadMakers认为有效地计划维护和建设一栋建筑物同样重要,为此,该公司对整个AEC过程采取全面性的看法。

CadMakers是一家专为精简AEC业而设的服务公司,从2014年初开始至今,该公司已成功完成35个总建设值超过30亿美元的项目,其联合创始人兼首席执行官Javier Glatt这么说:“一般人认为AEC行业不可使用制造的最佳实践,因为这个行业内的一切都不一样。但是,如 3DEXPERIENCE®平台云端版之类的新技术正促使我们的行业实现流程自动化并创造很多价值。”

如3DEXPERIENCE平台之类的新技术正促使AEC行业实现流程自动化并创造很多价值。

Javier Glatt

CadMakers联合创始人兼首席执行官Javier Glatt

 以3D虚拟建构

CadMakers能够在施工过程的早期便为客户展示高度精细、准确的3D模型,进而提高效率,与一般施工项目经理所用的典型多页2D制图恰恰相反。

“在3D和2D中操作有十分大的区别,” Javier Glatt说。“我们在任意一个项目中识别的问题或风险有大约30%是完全因为我们能够在一个集成的3D模型中查看该建筑物及其系统。”

当CadMakers的客户可共享采用3DEXPERIENCE平台创建的3D建筑模型时,他们便可清楚看到所有的差异。CadMakers的项目建模设计师Ryan Yee说:“2D建筑图纸是一页,结构图纸是另一页,接着还有各种建筑系统分成好几页。”“但是,当我们使用CATIA应用程序时,整个3D建筑模型尽在眼前,这就是价值所在。您可以很清楚地看到:‘这里是管道,这里是墙,这里是天花板,这就是为什么您的管道在天花板之下。’”

CATIA Fluid 3D视图
3DEXPERIENCE平台上应用的CATIA Fluid 3D Systems Designer让设计人员在LOD 400的制造细节水平查看将是世界最高木材建筑物的18层楼的机械、电气、给排水(MEP)等元素。

Glatt说:“近期因采用建筑信息模型的项目团队增加而出现不少新孤岛,而且各团队采用的技术水平也不均衡,因此为传统的项目采购方法增添复杂性。为提高复杂项目的效率,集成的项目交付方法将变得更加重要。在新世界中,预制和制造等工艺流程是为业主尽量提升价值至关重要的条件。”

共享3D Experience

给整个项目团队共享3D建筑模型的自由是CadMakers选用3DEXPERIENCE平台的主要原因之一。

在他们为UBC Properties Trust——一家为加拿大英属哥伦比亚大学(UBC)优化土地资产的企业——进行的工作中,CadMakers使用一个3D模型承担品质保证/品质管理的工作。Glatt说UBC的项目团队喜欢把项目的建筑师、工程师以及各个分包商等相关人员召集到一个房间内观看模型并为潜在问题众包解决方案。

每个人会很快便进入关注自身顾虑的状态。“一个电工使我们集中关注模型的一处,他说:‘好,告诉我,我有多少间隙可通过这个井?如果这里有管道,我该如何把我的导管置入管道?’我们正在实时解决这些问题,”Glatt说。

他也说,这种评估的真正价值在于结合施工业老手的实际专长、经验与通过3DEXPERIENCE模型所提供的目测技术。但是,经验丰富的电工或水管工不需要学习操纵模型。Glatt说:“劳力工作交给我们,但是我们需要施工老手担当我们的幕后智囊。”

“我们问他,‘这些导管可以靠的多紧?还有这些吊杆呢?法兰?阀门?这个的实际安装具体如何操作和按什么顺序完成?’我们得到老手的专业技术后即可实时实验这些技术和知识塑造模型。”

完全不复杂的效益

配备DELMIA应用程序的3DEXPERIENCE平台让用户可以超越静态模型,为客户呈现如何组合建筑的各个部分。

Yee解释说:“在你创建3D模型的过程中,无论大小和类型的所有零件都随手可取用,但你可能还没有想通整个建设的复杂性。如果使用DELMIA,你可以看清楚每一零件、每一装配以及施工的顺序和流程。”

对于复杂的施工现场来说,这是真正的优势。它提供了关于何时将材料和装配送到施工现场的知情决定,以及根据起重机的条件确定现场哪些地点可以放置材料和装配,因为起重机每天可提的数量是限定的。通过使用3DEXPERIENCE平台互联整个价值链,贯通所有的供应商和分包商,总承包商因此可以优化所有交付并尽量缩减施工现场的瓶颈。

“起重机放置地点十分重要,因为它决定该采用的流程和动线,”Yee说。“DELMIA可帮助你想象哪些任务该优先处理,哪些可以安排和其它同时执行。这么做可以提高效率,进而缩短施工时长。”

CATIA Fluid 3D Systems Designer视图
3DEXPERIENCE平台上应用的CATIA Fluid 3D Systems Designer让设计人员在LOD 400的制造细节水平查看将是世界最高的木材建筑物的18层楼的机械、电气、给排水(MEP)等元素。

新的透视有助于解决现场以外的问题

3DEXPERIENCE平台内,CATIA应用程序促使用户从概念到详细制造的过程中设计管道、管材和暖气通风和空调(HVAC)系统。此外,用户可以把关于新系统的智能置入3D模型中。

“假设你在HVAC系统上加一个弯头。这改变了系统中的摩擦力并进而更改了风扇的规格,”Yee解释说。“在CATIA中,添加弯头即可实现与整个HVAC模型的标准链接,也会确定你于变更设计时需要采用哪些风扇或阀门。”

新的管道接口和平台允许用户在所确定的位置放置特定的元素。用户选择设备、支架、吊杆等,接着由CATIA创建路线。“你知道管道是从A点到B点的,那你为什么还要费那么大的劲勾画路线,这工作可有软件代劳,并可能比你做得更好?”Yee问。

他继续说,底线是CATIA使用户能够识别管道或HVAC设计中的问题,并在系统到达工地现场之前加以解决。

掌握知识

Glatt认为3DEXPERIENCE平台具有明确的竞争优势:由ENOVIA应用程序提供的数据驱动并基于模型的体系结构无缝地与业务流程连接。他认为这种体系结构促使用户能够以新的方式充分利用3D模型。一个典型的例子是在建筑师、工程师和施工人员撤离施工现场好长一段时间之后才开始的长期性设施维护和管理工作。

“在项目经移交给运营和维修人员后,他们是否会有足够的专门知识和技术支持他们管理一栋建筑物的新废水系统和复杂的机械系统?”Glatt反问道。“我们可以把新技术引进建筑物,但我们是否可能在未来50年持续做好维护工作?这便是3DEXPERIENCE®平台云端版的ENOVIA架构可以形成极大优势的一方面。”

Glatt解释说3DEXPERIENCE模型背后的元数据包含易可搜索形式记录的每一个泵、过滤器和子结构。它甚至可以包括所有建筑系统的保修和维护时间表。

因此,高质量的建筑维护和运营可以从一开始便引进项目中,而不是完全依靠某个维修人员经过长时间在岗位上边做边学边累积有关建筑物的独有问题的知识。这些维修人员迟早会退休,他们的经验和具体的建筑知识将会流失;但在数据驱动并基于模型的ENOVIA体系结构中的内容则是永远存在。

焦点CadMakers

CadMakers与各行业的领军建筑、工程和施工公司等携手合作,为建设更智能的建筑物提供一系列的虚拟设计与施工(VDC)服务。其服务包括第三方建设设计与协调评审;可建设性分析;虚拟设计与施工的实施框架和协议;机械预制的启用;混凝土详图包;以及深化加工图纸的生成。

收入:私营企业
总部:加拿大英属哥伦比亚温哥华

若欲获得更多信息,请访问 www.cadmakers.com

使用技术解决复杂的问题

结合CadMakers的技术专长和3DEXPERIENCE平台,为他们的虚拟设计与施工业务提供动力是CadMakers成功的关键。

“我们相信使用技术解决问题,我们也相信3DEXPERIENCE平台可能是我们业界当今最高效的软件,”Glatt说。“它最适合特大、特复杂的项目。你不仅是获得一个建筑模型或单一建筑系统。还获得了尽在你眼前的每一套机械、电气、给排水系统。

“在3DEXPERIENCE这个平台上,达索系统创造了一个令人叹为观止的技术解决方案。就看我们如何充分利用它的能力来为我们的客户解决他们在建筑、工程和施工等工作的第一线所面对的实际问题。”

CADMAKERS VIRTUAL CONSTRUCTION

ARCHITECTURE, ENGINEERING & CONSTRUCTION

  • Challenge

    CadMakers Virtual Construction seeks to push the envelope for Virtual Design & Construction in the Architecture, Engineering and Construction industry through computational practices, preconstruction simulation and coordination; prefabrication of multiple building systems and optimization of assets through digitized building lifecycle management.

  • Solution

    CadMakers uses the 3DEXPERIENCE platform on the cloud, including the CATIA, DELMIA and ENOVIA applications, to create and share an integrated 3D building model.

  • Results

    With the cloud-based 3DEXPERIENCE platform, CadMakers has gained superior visualization to help identify conflicts in building systems design, while enabling process simulation to shorten construction timelines. CATIA’s user-defined features and scripting allows CadMakers to apply manufacturing efficiencies for construction processes.

Smarter building

CadMakers Virtual Construction understands that the construction of a building is a small percent of the total cost of ownership, compared to maintenance of the structure. The company thinks it’s just as important to efficiently plan for maintenance as it is to build a structure, which is why CadMakers takes a holistic view of the AEC process.

“People have thought that you cannot use manufacturing best practices in AEC because everything is different in our industry,” explained Javier Glatt, co-founder and CEO of CadMakers, a service company built to streamline the AEC industry and has executed 35 projects worth over US$3 billion in construction value since early 2014. “But new technologies, such as the 3DEXPERIENCE® platform on the Cloud, are enabling this industry to automate processes and create a lot of value.”

New technologies, such as the 3DEXPERIENCE platform, are enabling the AEC industry to automate processes and create a lot of value.

Javier Glatt

Javier Glatt, Co-founder and CEO, CadMakers

Virtually build in 3D

Opposed to the typical multi-page set of 2D drawings used by construction project managers, CadMakers shows its clients highly detailed, accurate 3D models early in the building process, which increases efficiency.

“The difference between working in 3D and 2D is powerful, ”Glatt said. “Roughly 30% of the problems or risks we identify in a given project result entirely from the fact that we’re able to view the building and its systems in an integrated, 3D model.”

The difference becomes clear to CadMakers’ clients when they get to share the 3D building model created with the 3DEXPERIENCE platform. “The 2D architectural drawing is one page, the structural drawing is another, and various building systems are on subsequent pages,” said Ryan Yee, project modeling designer, CadMakers. “But when we use the CATIA application, the 3D building model is right in front of you and that’s where the value is. You can be very clear: ‘here are the ducts, here is the wall, here is the ceiling, and this is why your duct is below the ceiling.’”

CATIA Fluid 3D view
CATIA Fluid 3D Systems Designer on the 3DEXPERIENCE platform enables designers to view 18 floors of mechanical, electrical and plumbing (MEP) elements at fabrication level of detail (LOD) 400 on what will be the world’s tallest wood building.

“The recent increase of project teams using Building Information Modeling has created new silos, with an uneven adoption of technology amongst teams, adding complexity to traditional project procurement methods,” Glatt said. “Integrated project delivery methods will become more important to drive efficiencies on complex projects. In this new world, prefabrication and manufacturing processes will be critical to maximizing value to owners.”

Sharing the 3D Experience

The freedom to share the 3D building model throughout a project’s team is a key reason that CadMakers chose the 3DEXPERIENCE platform.

In work for UBC Properties Trust, who optimizes the University of British Columbia’s land assets, CadMakers uses a 3D model to serve in a quality assurance/quality control capacity. Glatt says the project team at UBC likes to get everyone — the project’s architect, engineers and various subcontractors — in a room together to view the model and crowdsource solutions to potential problems.

It doesn’t take long for everyone to drill down to their own concerns. “An electrician had us zero-in on one area of the model. ‘OK,’ he says, ‘how much clearance do I have to get through this shaft? If there’s a duct there, how am I going to get my conduit in there?’ We were solving those problems in real time,” Glatt said.

The real value in such reviews, he adds, is combining the hands-on expertise and experience of construction industry veterans with the visualization provided by the 3DEXPERIENCE model. A veteran electrician or plumber doesn’t need to learn to manipulate the model, however. “We’ll do the heavy lifting, but we need the construction veterans to be the brains behind it all,” Glatt said.

“We ask him, ‘how close can we get these pipes together? What about hangers? Flanges? Valves? How are you going to actually install this and in what order?’ So we get that veteran expertise and we’re capturing it to shape the model in real time.”

Benefits without complexity

With the DELMIA application, the 3DEXPERIENCE platform enables users to move beyond a static model and show clients how the building components will be assembled together.

“When you build the 3D model, you have all of the parts and pieces there, every nut and bolt, but you may not think through the complexity of construction,” Yee explained. “Using DELMIA, you can see piece-by-piece, assembly-byassembly, the sequence and processes of construction.”

That has real benefits on a complex job site. It provides informed decisions about when materials and assemblies are delivered to the job site, and where they are placed on the site in relation to the crane, as it can only pick up so many items in a day. Using the 3DEXPERIENCE platform to connect the value chain through all of the suppliers and subcontractors, the general contractor can optimize deliveries and minimize bottlenecks on the job site.

“Where you put the crane is very important, as it dictates process and flow,” Yee said. “With DELMIA, you can visualize which tasks need to be prioritized, and which can be scheduled in conjunction with others. That improves efficiency to shorten the construction timeline.”

CATIA Fluid 3D Systems Designer view
CATIA Fluid 3D Systems Designer on the 3DEXPERIENCE platform enables designers to view 18 floors of mechanical, electrical and plumbing (MEP) elements at fabrication level of detail (LOD) 400 on what will be the world’s tallest wood building.

New insight solves problems off-site

Within the 3DEXPERIENCE platform, the CATIA application enables users to design piping, tubing and Heating Ventilation and Air Conditioning (HVAC) systems from concept through detailed manufacturing. Moreover, users can build intelligence regarding the new system into the 3D model.

“Let’s say you add an elbow to the HVAC system. That changes the friction in the system, which in turn changes the fan specs,” Yee explained. “In CATIA, when you add elbows you can link them to the standards of your entire HVAC model, and it will identify what fans or valves you’ll need when you change the design.”

A new piping interface and platform lets users place specific elements in defi ned locations. Users select the equipment, supports, hangers and more; then CATIA creates the route. “You know the pipe is going from point A to point B, so why should you do all the leg work to route it when the software will do it for you — and probably do it better?” Yee asked.

The bottom line, he continues, is that CATIA enables users to identify issues in a plumbing or HVAC design and resolve them before the system gets to the worksite.

Holding to the knowledge

Glatt believes the 3DEXPERIENCE platform has a definitive competitive advantage: its data-driven, model-based architecture delivered by ENOVIA applications seamlessly connect business processes. This architecture, he argues, enables users to leverage the 3D model in new ways. One prime example is the long-term facility maintenance and management that occurs long after architects, engineers and construction crews leave the site.

“When the project is turned over to operations and maintenance staff, are they going to have the expertise and know-how to manage new wastewater systems and complex mechanical systems in a building?” Glatt asked rhetorically. “Wecan design new technologies into buildings, but can we operate them for the next 50 years? That’s where the ENOVIA architecture of the 3DEXPERIENCE® platform on the Cloud can be extremely powerful.”

The metadata behind a 3DEXPERIENCE model, Glatt explains, includes every pump, fi lter and substructure in an easily searchable form. It can even include warranties and maintenance schedules for all of the building systems.

As a result, high quality building maintenance and operation can be built into the project from the start, rather than relying exclusively on the skills of a maintenance staff that learns a building’s idiosyncrasies over time. Sooner or later, members of that maintenance staff will retire, so their experience and specific building knowledge will be lost; but content in the datadriven, model-based ENOVIA architecture will remain forever.

Focus on CadMakers

CadMakers partners with leading architecture, engineering and construction companies to provide a range of virtual design and construction (VDC) services to enable smarter building. Services include 3rd party construction design and coordination review; constructability analysis; virtual design and construction implementation frameworks and protocols; enablement of mechanical prefabrication; concrete detailing packages; and shop drawing generation.

Revenue: Privately held
Headquarters: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

For more information www.cadmakers.com

Solving complex problems with technology

Combining their technological expertise with the3DEXPERIENCE platform to power its virtual design and construction business has been the crux of CadMaker’s success.

“We believe in solving problems using technology, and we believe the 3DEXPERIENCE platform may be the most powerful software available to our industry today,” Glatt said. “It’s an excellent match for very large, complex projects. You don’t just have an architectural model, or a single building system. You have every mechanical, electrical and plumbing system right in front of you.

“In the 3DEXPERIENCE platform, Dassault Systèmes has created an amazing technical solution. It’s up to us to leverage its capabilities to solve real problems on the front lines of architecture, engineering and construction for our customers.”