快速变化的绿色制造期望

气候议程不再是一种选择,而是一种必然,制造商正面临着转向绿色制造世界的新压力。

您的企业只是在可持续发展方面大谈特谈,还是有明确的行动计划?

发生了什么事情?

毋庸置疑,制造业是导致气候变化的最大元凶之一。根据世界资源研究所(World Research Institute)提供的数据,工业能源使用是全球碳排放的第一大来源,占温室气体排放总量的近四分之一(24.2%)。

为了将世界限制在《巴黎协定》规定的范围内,波士顿咨询公司(BCG)的顾问估计,到本世纪末,生产和物流排放量将需要减少约 45%。因此,所有的关注度都集中在制造商身上,以证明他们需要清洁运营,促进有效的碳净零排放转型,并成为真正的绿色制造商

压力来自于四面八方。例如,政府在推动实质性变革方面越来越积极主动。例如,欧盟的"数字产品护照" "将要求在欧盟开展业务的企业披露有关产品的成分信息,以便更有效地进行回收利用,从而给企业带来商业和披露压力。

 

 

消费者也对企业提出了更高的要求。IBM的一项调查发现,78%的客户更青睐于"清洁"产品,而72%的客户更青睐于对环境负责的产品。甚至投资者也在采取行动。大约75%的投资者认为企业应该解决ESG问题,即便这样做会降低短期盈利能力,而49%的投资者会从没有采取行动的企业撤资。

并且气候崩溃对企业不利,与第三方的担忧不同。洪水、野火等与气候相关的极端天气事件正在增加,可能损害制造业所依赖的供应链。高温天气甚至会影响发电:最近,由于冷却发电机缺水,核电站不得不放慢输出速度。

想要了解其他制造业的反应?

通过我们的定制解决方案应对如今的业务挑战

欢迎了解

为什么这至关重要?

达索系统可持续发展市场营销总监Jonathan Dutton坦率地谈到了制造业面临的挑战的规模。他认为,"为了与《巴黎协定》相关目标保持一致,我们必须在2030年之前将温室气体排放量整体减半,到2050年降至净零排放。我们当今绝对还没有走上正确的轨道。我们面临着巨大的挑战,但制造业也面临着巨大的机遇。"

实际上,行业可以用多种方式追求绿色制造目标:

1.优化整个运营流程的效率,以消除或减少废料和资源。 正如Jonathan Dutton所说,"最可持续的能源是您不使用的能源"

逐步实现流程电气化,让更多设施能够采用更绿色、低碳的能源生产形式运行,从而实现碳中和制造

3.重点关注设计和生产更可持续的环保产品

4.通过优先考虑回收和重用,努力发展循环经济,让材料在系统中反复循环,而不是被提取和丢弃。 

当然,创新的可持续制造实践在某些行业中比其他行业更难进行开发和整合。但这些行业往往大有可为、大有作为。例如,碳密集型钢铁和水泥行业正在努力开发氢基还原工艺并扩大规模,此举可以帮助臭名昭著的重污染行业脱碳。交通运输行业和航空业也是如此。 

此外,为了适应新的气候形式,制造商还必须竭力改变运营方式,以适应更加不可预测的气候模式。Jonathan Dutton表示:"我们必须适应气候变化,因为它无论如何都会发生。例如,我们必须问:如今的供应链是否具备管理极端高温波动的能力?他们能否适应不可预测的短缺或故障?当室外温度高达50摄氏度时,员工和机器是否可以正常工作?"

 

我可以如何准备?

管理像气候变化这样复杂和多方面的挑战意味着建立对土地布局的准确和综合全面的了解比以往任何时候都更加重要。 

Jonathan Dutton指出:"产品和制造工程变得比以往任何时候都更加复杂,尤其是现在需要将给定产品的环境足迹纳入早期的设计阶段。我们需要更复杂的数字工具。"

管理这种复杂性可能意味着未来的可持续行业越来越依赖数字工具,无论这意味着扩展对运营的洞察力,还是使用可持续产品和流程进行创新都是如此。根据英国《金融时报》的焦点报告,26%的企业正在采用先进的数字工具来帮助他们设计和制造低碳产品。 

这种方法主要有两个优势:能够测量和监控现有运营和产品的足迹;有机会对新的构思和工作方式进行建模和测试。这方面的一个实例是海上风电场的快速增长。 数字工具能够助力设计师在设计阶段进行数以万计的仿真,然后在运营阶段持续监控性能,从而创建出更大、更高效、更富有韧性的涡轮机。 

达索系统 3DEXCITE的首席执行官Tom Acland表示:"技术是验证任何可持续性声明的一种强有力的方式,对于赢得投资者、监管机构和客户的信任至关重要。”

制造商面临着一项艰巨的任务,创建可持续的、负责任的循环价值链。为此,需要重新思考他们如何单独和共同运营。为了找到正确的解决方案,拥有可支配的必要工具至关重要。 

Jonathan Dutton表示:"这就是我们如今所面临的挑战。如果我们采用新的模式、方法、工具和技能,我们将变得更富有韧性,只有这样,我们才能为我们的企业和地球保驾护航。"
 

如今的供应链是否具备管理极端高温波动的能力?他们能否适应不可预测的短缺或故障?当室外温度高达50摄氏度时,员工和机器是否可以正常工作?

'制造业 > 可持续发展 > Dassault Systèmes®
Jonathan Dutton
达索系统可持续发展行业市场营销总监

其他 趋势

通过我们的制造业了解更多

Aerospace & Defense > Dassault Systèmes
航空航天与国防
弥合虚拟世界和现实世界之间的差距,加速从概念到运作的转变。
Aviation Emissions Reduction > Decarbonization > Dassault Systèmes®
The Sky-High Route to Low-Carbon Aviation
The industry has reached a consensus on key decarbonization steps: fleet updates, innovative propulsion tech, operational efficiency, sustainable aviation fuel (SAF), and carbon offsetting.
Breaking the Barriers to Innovation > Dassault Systèmes
打破创新壁垒
21 世纪的新航空航天行业先驱
Consumer Packaged Goods & Retail > Dassault Systèmes
包装消费品与零售
在消费者强调今天就要的情况下,产品务必要抢先上市。
Sustainable Packaging > Profitable End-to-End Strategy > Dassault Systèmes®
The Sustainable Packaging Strategy That Unboxes Profitability
Pressured to deliver eco-friendly packaging? Balance sustainability and packaging innovation while growing profits with the right strategy on the 3DEXPERIENCE® platform.
Home & Lifestyle > Dassault Systèmes
家居与生活方式
围绕个人进行创新,为每位消费者带来个性化的体验。
Eco-Friendly Home Products > The Positive Home Project > Dassault Systèmes®
The Positive Home Project: Designing Eco-Friendly Home Products
Integrate product innovation with sustainable design practices on a single platform to lower a product’s environmental footprint with Sustainable Innovation Intelligence
High-Tech > Dassault Systèmes
高科技
简化和加速创新,创造更丰富的消费体验。
Recycling E-Waste Into Value: High-Tech Sustainability Reimagined > Dassault Systèmes
Recycling E-Waste Into Value: High-Tech Sustainability Reimagined
Discover how high-tech manufacturers can sharpen their sustainability strategy to go beyond e-waste recycling and achieve regulatory compliance, zero-waste operations and efficient product recovery.
Industrial Equipment > Dassault Systèmes
工业设备
为实现按订单制造的创新促成制造业的数字化。
Tire manufacture > Hero Banner > Dassault Systèmes
轮胎制造商
不断上涨的燃料和原材料成本、激烈的竞争、严格的安全和环境法规只是当今轮胎制造商面临的一些挑战
Profitable and Sustainable Wind Turbines > Renewable Energy > Dassault Systèmes
Generate Clean Energy Profitably With Sustainable Wind Turbines
Wind energy is a clean, emission-free power source with minimal environmental impact. Unlike other energy sources, wind turbines don't emit pollutants or require water for cooling, making them an environmentally friendly choice for electricity generation.
Business Services > Dassault Systèmes
船舶与海洋工程
加快船舶与海洋工程行业的可持续转型。
Digital Shipyard > Hero Banner > Dassault Systèmes
数字化船厂 — 为何智能技术离不开智能思维?
重新设计您的思维及技术,为您的企业带来非凡机遇。
Transportation & Mobility > Dassault Systèmes
汽车与交通运输
推动汽车创新朝向未来的移动出行
Boost Sustainable Mobility in the Automotive Industry > Dassault Systèmes
Boost Sustainable Mobility in the Automotive Industry
See how the Virtual Twin strategy enables automotive innovators to develop high-performance, zero-emission, recyclable vehicles
转至顶部

世界需要制造商

变革宣言

Manufacturing > Green Manufacturing > Dassault Systèmes®

Rapidly Changing Green Manufacturing Expectations

The climate agenda is no longer an option, it’s an imperative, and manufacturers are facing renewed pressure to move to a world of green manufacturing.

Does your business just talk big on sustainability, or does it have a clear plan of action?

What’s happening?

There are no two ways about it – when it comes to climate change, manufacturing industries are some of the biggest culprits. According to data from the World Research Institute, industrial energy use is the single largest carbon emitter in the world, responsible for nearly a quarter (24.2%) of total GHG emissions.

For the world to stay within the limits set by the Paris Agreement, consultant BCG estimates that emissions from production and logistics will need to decrease by approximately 45% by the end of the decade. All eyes are therefore on manufacturers to show that they are cleaning up their operations, facilitating an effective net zero transition, and becoming truly green manufacturers.

The pressure is coming from multiple directions. Governments, for one, are increasingly proactive in pushing for substantive change. For example, the EU’s “digital product passport” will mandate companies doing business in the EU to disclose information about product makeup so that they can be more effectively recycled – putting commercial and disclosure pressure on companies.

 

 

Consumers too are demanding more from businesses. One IBM survey found that 78% of customers preferred “clean” products, and 72% preferred environmentally responsible products. Even investors are getting in on the action. Around 75% of investors believe companies should address ESG issues, even if doing so reduces short-term profitability, while 49% would divest from companies that aren’t taking action.

And a collapsing climate is bad for business in ways that stand apart from the concerns of third parties. Climate-related extreme weather events, like floods or wildfires, are on the rise and can damage the supply chains on which manufacturing depends. Hot weather even affects power generation: Recently, nuclear power stations have had to slow their output because of lack of water to cool generators.

Curious about how other manufacturing industries respond?

Respond to today's challenges with our bespoke solutions

Why does it matter?

Jonathan Dutton, Marketing Director, Sustainability at Dassault Systèmes, is frank about the scale of the challenge for the manufacturing industry. He argues, “In order to stay on track with the Paris Agreement, we must collectively halve our GHG emissions by 2030, and drop to net-zero emissions by 2050. We are definitely not on track to do that today. There’s a massive challenge ahead of us, but there are also huge opportunities for manufacturing industries.”

In practical terms, there are several ways industries can pursue green manufacturing goals:

1. Optimize efficiencies throughout their operations, with the aim of eliminating or reducing waste materials and resources. As Dutton remarks, “The most sustainable energy is the energy you don’t use”

2. Increasingly electrify their processes so more of their facilities can run on greener, low-carbon forms of energy generation, for carbon neutral manufacturing

3. Focus on designing and producing more sustainable, eco-friendly products

4. Work to develop circular economies by prioritizing recycling and reuse, where materials are kept within this system rather than being extracted and discarded. 

Of course, innovative sustainable manufacturing practices are harder to develop and integrate in some industries than others. But often these are the sectors where it can make the most difference. The carbon-intensive steel and cement industry, for instance, is hard at work trying to develop and scale hydrogen-based reduction processes, that could help decarbonize an infamously dirty sector. The same could be said for the transportation industry and the aviation industry.  

To adapt to our new climate reality, manufacturers must also work to transform operations for more unpredictable weather patterns. “We have to adapt to climate change, because it's going to happen anyway,” says Dutton. “For example, we must ask: Are today's supply chains equipped to manage extreme heat fluctuations? Can they adapt to unpredictable shortages or failures? Can employees and machines function when it's 50 degrees Celsius outside?”

 

How can I prepare?

Managing a challenge as complex and multi-faceted as climate change means it’s more important than ever to establish an accurate and comprehensive understanding of the lay of the land. 

“Product and manufacturing engineering is becoming more complex than ever, especially now that a given product’s environmental footprint needs to be included in the early design phases,” says Dutton. "Much more sophisticated digital tools are needed.”

Managing this complexity may mean that would-be sustainable industries increasingly come to rely on digital tools, whether that means expanding insight into operations, or innovating with sustainable products and processes. According to the Financial Times Focus report, 26% of businesses are adopting advanced digital tools to help them design and build lower-carbon products

There are two key benefits to this approach: The ability to measure and monitor the footprint of existing operations and products; the opportunity to model and test new ideas and ways of working. An example of this in action is the rapid growth in offshore wind farms. Digital tools have enabled designers to create larger, more efficient, and more resilient turbines by carrying out tens of thousands of simulations during the design stage and then constantly monitoring performance during its operation. 

“Technology is a powerful way to validate any sustainability claims and is critical in winning the trust of investors, regulators and customers,” says Tom Acland, CEO at 3DEXCITE, Dassault Systèmes.

Manufacturers have a colossal task ahead of them – creating sustainable, accountable, circular value chains. To do so, will require rethinking how they operate, both individually and together. Having the necessary tools at their disposal to find the right solutions will be crucial. 

“This is the challenge that we have in front of us today. If we embrace new models, methods, tools, and skills we’ll come out more resilient, protecting both our businesses and the planet on the way,” says Dutton.
 

Are today's supply chains equipped to manage extreme heat fluctuations? Can they adapt to unpredictable shortages or failures? Can employees and machines function when it's 50 degrees Celsius outside?

'Manufacturing > Sustainability > Dassault Systèmes®
Jonathan Dutton
Marketing Director, Sustainability, Dassault Systèmes

Other Trends

THE WORLD NEEDS MANUFACTURERS

A MANIFESTO FOR CHANGE