越来越关注改善产品生命周期

为了应对气候变化、有限的资源以及污染等全球挑战,
制造业必须重新评估当前的线性生产和消费系统,并重点关注保持资源使用和最小化浪费的业务模式。

气候危机不会消失,您的产品如何进行适应?

 

 

 

 

发生了什么事情?

在21世纪消费主义的所有趋势中,快时尚的兴起是最令人大开眼界的趋势之一。 

基于低价销售最新设计并且不断推出新系列的理念,H&M和Zara等快时尚先驱已经开始成为高街的主宰。 

促成这一现象的是现代制造业背后的一些核心原则,压缩生产周期,依赖于简化操作、即时库存和快速的全球供应链。 

但所有这些即时满足都是有代价的。

根据全球《新纺织经济:重塑时装的未来》报告,2000年至2015年间,服装销量翻了一番,从每年1,000亿件增加到2,000亿件,而一件衣服在被丢弃之前的平均穿戴次数下降了36%。 

然而,只有一小部分被丢弃的衣服会被重用。用于制作衣服的材料只有不到1%被回收制成新衣服,每年约产生9,200万吨的纺织品废料。这相当于每年损失掉的材料价值超过1,000亿美元。 

不过,潮流正在转向,该行业越来越关注延长产品的生命周期。麦肯锡2022年的一项调查发现,60%的时装业高管已经投资或计划明年投资闭环回收。

这是一个在各行各业都引起广泛共鸣的信念:企业认识到变革的必要性。达索系统高科技行业副总裁Stephane Sireau表示:"我们看到整个行业对延长智能互联产品的生命周期管理的强烈需求。从产品开发阶段到整个产品的运营,一直到跟踪其再利用、第二次生命和回收。"
 

想要了解其他制造业的反应?

通过我们的定制解决方案应对如今的业务挑战

欢迎了解

为什么这至关重要?

建立有效的循环经济可以从根本上提高我们获取、制造和使用方式的有效性。根据世界资源研究所提供的数据,通过有效实施循环经济 实践,我们仅每年的碳排放量就可以减少37亿吨。

一种解决方案是开发新的回收技术,在全球各地,研究人员正在寻找回收塑料的新方法、降低运营排放强度的新技术,以及将产品重用列为优先事项的新框架。 

但这还不足以让这些技术可用。此外,制造商还必须注意确保产品和供应链本身的设计方式有利于回收流程

达索系统可持续性市场营销总监Jonathan Dutton表示:"自然是终极的循环经济,我们需要与大自然通力合作。要么我们找到一种方法来生产实际上可以直接重用、无需回收的产品,要么我们要基于产品不同的回收方式来制造产品。"

以塑料为例。尽管回收塑料有很多方法,但不同的塑料需要采用不同的回收程序。聚乙烯袋和汽车内饰无法以同样的方式进行回收。但通常情况下,一种塑料制品往往结合了多种材料。循环设计将解决这些挑战。

例如,塑料供应链的循环性可能需要设计一种产品,其中相同种类的塑料用于多个组件,允许整个产品一次性回收,最大限度地减少拆解和多个回收流的需要。 

Jonathan Dutton指出:"无论我们使用化学回收、机械回收还是其他方法,有效的流程都依赖于我们对所处理的不同材料的理解和协调"。

包装 到重工业,还可以通过实施更高效、更优化的制造流程来实现循环。例如,通过改进我们轧钢(本身是一种高碳密集型材料)的方式,我们可以限制浪费并减少对生产新钢材的需求。 

如果制造商能够学会做好这件事,那么回报可能是非常可观的。Jonathan Dutton指出:"通过保持材料产品的循环使用,我们可以最大限度地减少新资源的开采,最大限度地减少新废物的产生,并创造一种基于重用而不是使用和丢弃的节约型经济。"

 

我可以如何做好准备?

向基于循环经济原则的业务模式转型可能感觉上是一个重要且有潜在风险的步骤。但落地到具体实施层面,实际上是关于信息,以及您如何使对其加以利用。 

生命周期评估(LCA),有时也称为生命周期分析,正在成为了解整个产品生命周期价值链,以及了解如何使其更具可持续性、减少浪费和延长其寿命的至关重要的工具。 

Stephane Sireau指出:"LCA为企业提供了一种专门的方法来改善其产品和运营的碳足迹,从产品开发的早期阶段到制造再到服务。它允许企业设定环境影响目标,并在产品的整个生命周期中捕获相关的KPI,以不断减少对环境的影响,同时提供完美的客户体验。" 

接下来的一步是使用LCA以及 虚拟孪生等虚拟建模工具来优化报废流程,并使循环经济成为无处不在的现实。例如,拆解团队需要知道电池的确切化学成分,以计算如何安全地回收这些组件。 

此外,它还可以帮助制造商根据特定市场测试产品回收场景,并相应地设计他们的制造和物流流程。 

Jonathan Dutton表示:"我们来看=一下玻璃瓶的示例。在德国,他们重复使用瓶子。在法国,他们将瓶子粉碎并融化。这意味着您需要为每个不同的国家/地区设计不同的产品和不同的价值链流程。LCA可助力您识别这些细节并相应地设计您的操作。"

单靠建立更多的循环经济并不能帮助我们自行管理通往完全可持续未来的道路。但是,超越获取、制造和浪费模式,向大自然借鉴经验,在我们星球的生态边界内生活是不可或缺的第一步。

自然是终极的循环经济,我们需要与大自然通力合作。

'制造业 > 可持续发展 > Dassault Systèmes®
Jonathan Dutton
达索系统可持续发展行业市场营销总监

其他 趋势

通过我们的制造业了解更多

Aerospace & Defense > Dassault Systèmes
航空航天与国防
弥合虚拟世界和现实世界之间的差距,加速从概念到运作的转变。
Consumer Packaged Goods & Retail > Dassault Systèmes
包装消费品与零售
在消费者强调今天就要的情况下,产品务必要抢先上市。
Sustainable Packaging > Profitable End-to-End Strategy > Dassault Systèmes®
The Sustainable Packaging Strategy That Unboxes Profitability
Pressured to deliver eco-friendly packaging? Balance sustainability and packaging innovation while growing profits with the right strategy on the 3DEXPERIENCE® platform.
Home & Lifestyle > Dassault Systèmes
家居与生活方式
围绕个人进行创新,为每位消费者带来个性化的体验。
Eco-Friendly Home Products > The Positive Home Project > Dassault Systèmes®
The Positive Home Project: Designing Eco-Friendly Home Products
Integrate product innovation with sustainable design practices on a single platform to lower a product’s environmental footprint with Sustainable Innovation Intelligence
High-Tech > Dassault Systèmes
高科技
简化和加速创新,创造更丰富的消费体验。
Industrial Equipment > Dassault Systèmes
工业设备
为实现按订单制造的创新促成制造业的数字化。
Business Services > Dassault Systèmes
船舶与海洋工程
加快船舶与海洋工程行业的可持续转型。
Masterpiece in Motion > Hero Banner > Dassault Systèmes
实施中的杰作 - 如何更好地管理造船的复杂性
通过端到端的数字化转型,造船商可以克服从概念到交付的复杂性
Transportation & Mobility > Dassault Systèmes
汽车与交通运输
推动汽车创新朝向未来的移动出行
Boost Sustainable Mobility in the Automotive Industry > Dassault Systèmes
Boost Sustainable Mobility in the Automotive Industry
See how the Virtual Twin strategy enables automotive innovators to develop high-performance, zero-emission, recyclable vehicles
转至顶部

世界需要制造商

变革宣言

Manufacturing > Growing focus on improving product lifecycles > Dassault Systèmes®

Growing Focus On Improving Product Lifecycles

To tackle the global challenges of climate change, finite resources, and pollution,
manufacturing industries must reassess the current linear system of production and consumption and focus on business models where resources are kept in use and waste is minimized.

The climate crisis isn’t going anywhere – how are your products adapting?

 

 

 

 

What’s happening?

Of all the trends that encapsulate consumerism in the 21st century, the rise of fast fashion is one of the most eye opening. 

Built on the concept of selling the latest designs at low prices and continuously introducing new collections, the pioneers of fast fashion, such as H&M and Zara, have come to dominate the high street. 

What enabled this phenomenon were some of the core principles behind modern manufacturingcompressed production cycles relying on streamlined operations, just-in-time inventories, and rapid global supply chains

But all this instant gratification comes with a price.

According to the global ‘A new textiles economy: Redesigning fashion’s future’ report, between 2000 and 2015 clothing sales doubled from 100 to 200 billion units a year, while the average number of times an item is worn before being discarded fell by 36%. 

And yet only a fraction of this cast-off clothing will be reused. Less than 1% of the material used to produce clothing is recycled into new clothing, with an estimated 92 million tons of textile waste created each year. This represents a loss of more than USD 100 billion worth of materials. 

The tide, though, is turning, and the industry is increasingly focused on extending product lifecycles. A 2022 McKinsey survey found 60% of fashion executives have already invested or plan to invest in closed loop recycling next year.

It is a belief echoed across industries: Businesses are cognizant of the need for change. “We see a strong demand across the industry to extend the lifecycle management for smart connected products,” says Stephane Sireau, Vice President, High Tech Industry, Dassault Systèmes. “This goes from the product development phases to overall product in operation, up to tracing its repurposing, second life, and recycling.”
 

Curious about how other manufacturing industries respond?

Respond to today's challenges with our bespoke solutions

Why does it matter?

Building an effective circular economy could radically improve the effectiveness of how we take, make, and use. According to the World Resources Institute, by effectively implementing circular economics practices, we could cut 3.7 billion tons from our annual carbon emissions alone. 

One solution is the development of new recycling techniques, and all over the world, researchers are finding new ways of recycling plastics, new techniques to reduce the emissions intensiveness of operations, and new frameworks that prioritize product reuse. 

But it’s not enough for the techniques to be available. Manufacturers also must take care to ensure that products and supply chains themselves are designed in a way that is conducive to recycling processes.

“Nature is the ultimate circular economy, and we need to work with it,” says Jonathan Dutton, Marketing Director, Sustainability at Dassault Systèmes. “Either we find a way to produce products that actually don't need recycling, that are reusable, or we build products that are designed to be recycled in different ways.”

Take plastic, for instance. While there are plenty of ways to recycle plastic, different plastics need to be exposed to different recycling procedures. A polythene bag and a car interior cannot be recycled the same way. But often, plastic products combine several materials in one item. Circular design would account for these challenges.

For example, circularity in plastic supply chains could entail designing a product where the same kind of plastic is used for multiple components, allowing the whole product to be recycled at a single stroke, minimizing the need for disassembly and multiple recycling streams. 

“Whether we are using chemical recycling, mechanical recycling, or something else, effective processes rely on our understanding and harmonizing the different materials we're working with,” says Dutton.

Circularity can also be pursued through the implementation of more efficient and more optimized manufacturing processes, from packaging to heavy industry. For example, by improving how we roll or mill steel (itself a highly carbon intensive material), we can limit waste and reduce the need for new steel to be produced. 

If manufacturers can learn to do this well, the rewards could be substantial. “By keeping materials products in the loop, we can minimize extraction of new resources, minimize creation of new waste products, and create an economy based on reuse, rather than use and discard,” says Dutton.

How can I prepare?

The transition to a business model based around circular economy principles can feel like a significant, and potentially risky, step. But implementation is really about information, and how you use it. 

Lifecycle assessment (LCA), sometimes known as lifecycle analysis, is becoming a critical tool in understanding the value chain across a whole product lifespan, how it can be made more sustainable, reduce waste, and extend its life. 

“LCA provides companies with a dedicated way to improve the carbon footprint of their products and operations – from early phases of product development to manufacturing to services,” says Sireau. “It allows companies to set environmental impact targets, and capture the relevant KPIs all along the lifecycle of the product to continuously minimize the environmental impact, all while delivering perfect customer experiences.” 

The next step is to use LCA, alongside virtual modeling tools such virtual twins, to optimize end of life processes and make circular economy a ubiquitous reality. For example, disassembly teams need to know the exact chemical mix of a battery to calculate how those components can be recycled safely. 

It can also help manufacturers test product recycling scenarios depending on specific markets, and design their manufacturing and logistics processes accordingly. 

“Let’s look at glass bottles,” says Dutton. “In Germany, they reuse bottles. In France, they smash them up and melt them. That means you need to design different products, and different value chain processes for each of these different countries. LCA lets you identify these specifics and design your operations accordingly.”

Building more circular economies alone won’t help us manage our way to a perfectly sustainable future on its own. But moving beyond the take, make, and waste model, and learning from nature to live within the ecological boundaries of our planet is an indispensable first step.

Nature is the ultimate circular economy, and we need to work with it.

'Manufacturing > Sustainability > Dassault Systèmes®
Jonathan Dutton
Marketing Director, Sustainability, Dassault Systèmes

Other Trends

THE WORLD NEEDS MANUFACTURERS

A MANIFESTO FOR CHANGE