制造业业务模式转型

随着数字革命的进一步发展,制造商发现自己正在寻求全新的、变革性的业务模式。 

未来的世界需要什么样的业务模式?

 

 

 

 

 

发生了什么事情?

"除了变化,没有什么是永恒的",赫拉克利特

企业对可预测性和熟悉度青睐有加。这些特质使有效的计划、预算和实施成为可能。 

令人遗憾的是,可预测性并不总是现实世界的特质。现实世界通常以波动性、不可预测性、复杂性和模糊性(我们所说的VUCA)为特征。如今,数字化和海量互联的力量加快了变革的步伐,催生了新的工作、沟通和协作的方式。

这一技术变革正在引发业务基础设施和行为的剧变,其激进程度不亚于工业革命。除了这些根本性的结构性变化之外,还有更多意想不到的地缘政治冲击,比如最近发生的全球COVID-19疫情和乌克兰战争等。这些可能会对“一切照旧的模式”产生深远的影响。

达索系统工业、市场营销和可持续发展行业执行副总裁Florence Verzelen表示:"大约80%的现有业务模式已经处于危险之中。在过去三年中,我们看到了很多危机,所有这些都影响着制造业的业务模式。”她指出:“例如,许多企业采用低库存、即时模式。COVID-19疫情和俄罗斯入侵乌克兰凸显了这些方法的脆弱性。"

想要了解其他制造业的反应?

通过我们的定制解决方案应对如今的业务挑战

欢迎了解

为什么这至关重要?

对于发现自己在这个勇敢的新世界中无所适从的企业来说,旧的确定性正在瓦解。据估计,20%的初创企业在第一年失败,大约60%的初创企业在前三年失败。因此,为了保证业务增长,确保您的业务模式适合未来,并且能够适应冲击,这一点至关重要。

推动业务转型的模式不仅能够最充分地利用数字技术的巨大潜力来满足不断变化的客户需求,而且可以避免相关投资风险和数据隐私陷阱。 

但是,这些新的业务模式会是什么样子呢?

1.一切即服务:在21世纪10年代初,Netflix和Uber等平台出现了,他们撕毁了产品和服务销售的规则手册。现在制造业都坐起来,关注服务经济和平台化的兴起。

Florence Verzelen表示:"人们不想再购买产品了,他们想购买体验。Z世代不一定想拥有一辆汽车;他们想从A点到B点。

对于制造商来说,体验经济需要完全不同的业务模式。它标志着从资本支出到运营支出的转变,是提供产品体验,而不是纯粹的产品。无论您是销售汽车还是销售工业设备,方法都是一样的。"

2.快速的产品演进:产品在不断变化。他们越来越数字化和互联,推出了新的设计,提高了制造复杂性。他们正在利用新材料和新的生产技术,如增材制造等。最重要的是,他们更能响应消费者的需求。这不仅意味着更加个性化和定制化,而且意味着更加合乎道德及可持续的产品和服务。

 

" Florence Verzelen指出:"85%的消费者现在更青睐于购买可持续的体验、产品或服务。这意味着您必须将可持续性融入整个价值链,从设计到制造,到物流,再到如何在产品使用寿命结束时回收产品。这允许我们延长产品寿命,通过改进翻新、回收和重用技术,赋予同样的初始产品多次生命。这是关于嵌入循环实践。"

数据驱动的制造业:新经济的力量不仅改变了制造的产品形态;还改变了制造商的生产方式。尤其是,工厂数据生成和处理的爆炸式增长正迎来行业转型和运营优化的新时代,这将从根本上改变这些工厂的管理方式。

从预测性维护到新生产形式的集成,必须重新配置新工厂,充分利用数据革命提供的机遇,采用新的制造模式。

当然,大幅改变您的运营方式会给企业自身带来一定的风险。摆脱既定的收入模式可能意味着您突然要与小型、敏捷、创新的颠覆者进行竞争,这些颠覆者的成本基础和技术驱动的方法使他们能够更轻松地适应不断变化的客户需求。 

此外,拥抱数字技术也可能增加网络犯罪分子和黑客威胁的可能性。从犯罪团伙到民族国家攻击者,网络攻击的资源越来越丰富,针对性也越来越强。在新经济中生存和发展意味着密切关注威胁因素,确保将网络安全考虑因素纳入战略计划。 

在这一切的背后,是一个更关乎生死存亡的威胁,气候变化。极端天气事件迫使工厂关停和供应链中断。可持续发展的必要性正在敦促新的立法,引导不断变化的消费者需求。如果要完美平衡业务创新业务韧性,就需要考虑这一新现实的广泛影响。

                                    

我可以如何做好准备?

那么,在这一巨变中,企业能做些什么呢?如何有效进行业务模式的创新从可持续创新到商业创新,创新越来越意味着充分利用您的数据。

首先要收集、标准化和分析数据,这意味着这些数据能够被有效利用。从供应链到销售,到设计,再到分销,制造商会生成大量数据。将所有这些信息都放在正确的位置,可以助力企业做出远不止于下一季度预算的决策。

Florence Verzelen表示:"使用数据来管理这一规模的转型的下一个必然步骤是虚拟孪生。以您的产品为例。如果您有产品的虚拟孪生,那么您可以在设计阶段对其进行优化,提高其质量和耐用性,帮助减少其环境足迹。但您也可以对该产品的整个售后生命周期进行建模,查看如何维护它,当它已达到最终使用寿命时如何最好地回收其组件,以及它的第二次或第三次生命可能是什么。

此外,虚拟孪生的价值也扩展到您的运营中。例如,如果您的供应链出现问题,比如,如果您的供应商之一过来说,‘我们的半导体用完了’,您可以通过虚拟孪生无风险地试验新模型,并利用这些信息寻找新的供应商或物流安排,恢复正常运营。"

Florence Verzelen继续说道:"这种业务模式转型方法在实践中是什么样的?我们来看一个实例。消费电子产品面临众多挑战。拥有计算机的虚拟孪生可以允许您创建一个在设计上可持续的或循环的计算机。 

这是什么意思?这意味着,如果我在虚拟世界中设计我的计算机并利用虚拟孪生,我能够计划计算机每个组件的第二次、第三次、第四次生命,并确保每个部分都是循环的。"

如果企业要在变形物理和商业现实的世界中蓬勃发展,他们需要清楚地了解他们所处的环境以及他们需要做出的改变。变化是不可避免的。
 

您必须将可持续性融入整个价值链,从设计到制造,到物流,再到如何在产品使用寿命结束时回收产品

制造业 > 工业、市场营销和可持续发展行业 > Dassault Systèmes®
Florence Verzelen
达索系统工业、市场营销和可持续发展行业执行副总裁

其他 趋势

通过我们的制造业了解更多

Aerospace & Defense > Dassault Systèmes
航空航天与国防
弥合虚拟世界和现实世界之间的差距,加速从概念到运作的转变。
The New Frontier of Satellite Technology > Aerospace & Defense > Dassault Systèmes
The New Frontier of Satellite Technology
To successfully launch satellites into orbit, New Space companies must speed up innovation in satellite technology. How can they deliver right the first time?
Breaking the Barriers to Innovation > Dassault Systèmes
打破创新壁垒
21 世纪的新航空航天行业先驱
Consumer Packaged Goods & Retail > Dassault Systèmes
包装消费品与零售
在消费者强调今天就要的情况下,产品务必要抢先上市。
Home & Lifestyle > Dassault Systèmes
家居与生活方式
围绕个人进行创新,为每位消费者带来个性化的体验。
Eco-Friendly Home Products > The Positive Home Project > Dassault Systèmes®
The Positive Home Project: Designing Eco-Friendly Home Products
Integrate product innovation with sustainable design practices on a single platform to lower a product’s environmental footprint with Sustainable Innovation Intelligence
High-Tech > Dassault Systèmes
高科技
简化和加速创新,创造更丰富的消费体验。
Next Gen Data Center > Dassault Systèmes
How to Accelerate Next Gen Data Center Innovation
Shorten the stand-up time of configurable, sustainable data centers through virtual twin experiences.
Industrial Equipment > Dassault Systèmes
工业设备
为实现按订单制造的创新促成制造业的数字化。
Business Services > Dassault Systèmes
船舶与海洋工程
加快船舶与海洋工程行业的可持续转型。
Transportation & Mobility > Dassault Systèmes
汽车与交通运输
推动汽车创新朝向未来的移动出行
It's time to EVolve > Dassault Systèmes
It's time to EVolve: how can you fast-track Electric Drive advancements?
Digital optimization can accelerate eDrive development towards a profitable future
转至顶部

世界需要制造商

变革宣言

Manufacturing > Business Model Transformation > Dassault Systèmes®

Manufacturing Industries Business Model Transformation

As the digital revolution continues, manufacturers are finding themselves driven to pursue new, revolutionary business models. 

What business models will the world of the future demand?

 

 

 

 

 

What’s happening?

"There is nothing permanent except change” – Heraclitus

Businesses like predictability and familiarity. These are qualities that enable effective planning, budgeting, and implementation. 

Unfortunately, predictability is not always a quality of the real world. The real world is often characterized by volatility, unpredictability, complexity and ambiguity (what we call VUCA). This has never been more so than today, where the forces of digitalization and mass connectivity have accelerated the pace of change, ushering in new ways of working, communicating, and collaborating.

This technological transformation is precipitating an upheaval in business infrastructure and behavior no less radical than the industrial revolution. And on top of these fundamental structural changes, there have been more unexpected geopolitical shocks, most recently in the form of a global pandemic and the war in Ukraine. These can have profound consequences for business-as-usual.

“Around 80% of existing business models were already at risk,” says Florence Verzelen, Executive Vice President, Industry, Marketing and Sustainability at Dassault Systèmes. “Across the past three years, we've seen a lot of crises, all of which have impacted manufacturing business models. For example, many businesses ran on low-stock, just-in-time models,” she says. “COVID-19 and the Russian invasion of Ukraine have highlighted the fragility of these approaches.”

Curious about how other manufacturing industries respond?

Respond to today's challenges with our bespoke solutions

Why does it matter?

For businesses finding themselves cast adrift in this brave new world, old certainties are crumbling. It’s estimated that 20% of business fail in their first year, and around 60% fail in their first three. Making sure your business model is fit for the future, and capable of adapting to shocks, is therefore critical if business growth is to be assured.

The models that drive business transformation will be those that can best leverage the huge potential of digital technology to meet evolving customer demands, whilst avoiding the associated investment risks and data privacy pitfalls. 

But what might these new business models look like?

1. Everything-as-a-service: At the beginning of the 2010s, platforms like Netflix and Uber came along and ripped up the rulebook for how products and services were sold. Now manufacturing is sitting up and taking note of the service economy and the rise of platformization.

“People don't want to buy products anymore, they want to buy experiences,” says Florence Verzelen. “Gen Z don't necessarily want to own a car; they want to get from point A to point B.

“For manufacturers, the experience economy demands a totally different business model. It marks a shift from CapEx to OpEx, providing a product experience rather than purely a product. And it doesn’t matter if you’re selling a car or a piece of industrial equipment, the approach is the same.”

2. Rapid product evolution: Products are changing. They are increasingly digital and connected, throwing up new design and manufacturing complexities. They are utilizing new materials and production techniques, like additive manufacturing. And most of all, they are more responsive to the demands of a buying public. This not only means more personalized and customized, but more ethical and sustainable products and services.

 

85% of consumers now prefer to purchase an experience or a product or a service that is sustainable,” says Florence Verzelen. “This means that you have to incorporate sustainability right across your value chain, from design, to manufacture, to logistics, to how you recycle products at the end of their life. This then allows us to extend product lifetimes, adding multiple lives to the same initial product through improved refurbishing, recycling, and reuse techniques. It’s about embedding circular practices.”

Data-powered manufacturing: The forces of the new economy aren’t just changing what is made; they are also changing how manufacturers go about making it. In particular, the explosion of data generation and manipulation in factories is ushering in a new era of industry transformation and operational optimization, radically changing how those factories are managed.

From predictive maintenance to the integration of new forms of production, new factories must be reconfigured to take advantage of the opportunities that the data revolution provides and embrace new manufacturing models.

Substantially changing the way you operate, of course, brings its own risks. Moving away from established revenue models can mean you are suddenly competing against small, agile, innovative disruptors, whose low cost base and tech-driven approach enables them to adjust to shifting customer demands more easily. 

Embracing digital technology also potentially increases the threat of cybercriminals and hackers. From criminal gangs to nation-state players, cyberattacks are increasingly well-resourced and highly targeted. Thriving and surviving in the new economy means keeping one eye on threat vectors and ensuring that cybersecurity considerations are embedded in strategic planning. 

Behind all of this is a more existential threat – climate change. Extreme weather events are forcing factory closures and disrupting supply chains. The sustainability imperative is driving new legislation and shifting consumer demands. Balancing business innovation against business resiliency necessitates factoring in the wide-ranging impact of this new reality.

                                                Watch Florence Verzelen and David Rowan in conversation

How can I prepare?

So what can businesses do amid such seismic shifts? How can business model innovation be effectively pursued? Well, innovation, from sustainable innovation to commercial innovation, increasingly means making the most of your data.

This starts with collecting, standardizing, and analyzing it in a way that means it can be effectively utilized. From supply chain to sales, design to distribution, manufacturers produce huge amounts of data. Having all this information in the right state enables businesses to make decisions far beyond next quarter’s budget.

“The most logical next step in using data to manage this scale of transformation is the virtual twin,” says Florence Verzelen. “Take your products, for example. If you have a virtual twin of your product, you can optimize it at the design stage, boosting its quality and durability – and help reduce its environmental footprint. But you can also model the whole post-sales life of that product, looking at how it might need to be maintained, how its components could best be recycled when it has reached its end of life, and what its second or third lives could be.

“The value of virtual twins also extends into your operations. If something goes wrong in your supply chain, for instance – say if one of your suppliers comes and says, ‘we’re out of semiconductors’ – you can turn to your virtual twin and experiment with new models, risk-free, and use that information to find new suppliers or logistics arrangements and get your operation back up and running.”

"What does this approach to business model transformation look like in practice? Let's look at an example,” Florence Verzelen continues. “Consumer electronic goods have many challenges. Having the virtual twin of your computer allows you to create a computer that is sustainable, or circular, by design.” 

“What does that mean? It means that if I'm doing the design of my computer in the virtual world and working on the virtual twin, I'm able to plan for the second, the third, the fourth life of each component of my computer and make sure every part is circular.”

If businesses are going to thrive in a world of metamorphosing physical and commercial realities, they need to be clearsighted about the landscape they are in and about the changes they need to make. Change is inevitable.
 

You have to incorporate sustainability right across your value chains, from design, to manufacture, to logistics, and to how you recycle products at the end of their life

Manufacturing > Industry, Marketing and Sustainability > Dassault Systèmes®
Florence Verzelen
Executive Vice President, Industry, Marketing and Sustainability, Dassault Systèmes

Other Trends

THE WORLD NEEDS MANUFACTURERS

A MANIFESTO FOR CHANGE