识别未来的材料

从可生物降解塑料到纳米级结构,新材料将改变我们的生活方式,如果我们能够大规模开发和生产它们的话。

为什么要欣然采用未来的材料?

 

 

 

 

播客

“悬崖边上”的制造业:创新时代的行业

我们正处于技术变革之中。如果制造商想要成为这次变革的一部分并从中大获裨益,那么他们不仅需要培养人才,还需要始终将创新都放在企业的核心位置。

0:00
0:00
“悬崖边上”的制造业 > Dassault Systèmes®

发生了什么事情?

从石器时代到青铜时代,从铁器时代到现在的硅时代,材料在最基本的层面上定义了我们作为使用技术的物种能做什么。考古学使用这些术语来划分历史时期是有原因的,这是因为材料定义了文明的形状和功能。

在我们当下,材料科学的进步可以提供激进的解决方案来解决我们面临的最紧迫的挑战 – 重塑世界,从尽可能小的颗粒开始,在未来新材料的基础上,产生全新的产品和创新的制造工艺。 

达索系统包装消费品与零售兼家居与生活方式行业副总裁Philippe Loeb表示:"正在发生的材料创新是在非常小的原子和分子尺度上进行的。但它却将产生全球范围内的影响,影响我们生活的方方面面。这些产品最终仍然只是已经存在的原子和分子。这仅仅是关于如何利用科学对它们进行重新构思和重新配置。"

这一领域正在蓬勃发展。从植物基塑料到先进的纳米级结构、会呼吸氧气的陶瓷,再到木材等优质传统材料的新用途,21世纪20年代的材料格局令人振奋且充满活力。

它同时也得到了政府的大力支持。仅在2022年11月,英国政府就宣布 投入9,500万英镑(约1.08亿美元)为新材料的研究提供鼎力支持,包括应用于组织工程和核反应堆外壳的3D生物打印。

想要了解其他制造业的反应?

通过我们的定制解决方案应对如今的业务挑战

欢迎了解

为什么这至关重要?

新材料不仅仅是一个噱头。它们是我们未来繁荣发展的基础,并将在帮助我们克服如今面临的一些重大挑战方面发挥至关重要的作用。

考虑可持续性和可持续包装的开发。在非常基本的层面上,可持续性是一个材料问题:我们在消费什么,我们是如何消费的,我们如何通过开发负责任的产品设计让资源利用更高效?

例如,塑料是我们社会中最普遍、污染也最严重的产品之一,我们每年产生超过4亿吨的塑料废物。然而,通过改变我们产品包装的方法,我们可以制造能被细菌分解或更易于重用的塑料和其他可持续材料。 

从其他方面来说,还是紧紧围绕材料。通过使材料更轻、更坚固、更灵活,我们可以制造出更耐用的产品,同时最大限度地减少排放和浪费。 

Philippe Loeb表示:"物质和能量之间的关系非常有趣。首先,如果我们使用更轻的材料来制造卡车和飞机等交通工具,那么这将有助于我们限制燃料的使用。但我们也可以改变我们自己生产材料的方式,并充分利用低碳制造工艺。” 

例如,航空旅行是出了名的碳密集和众所周知的脱碳困难。然而,新材料可以减轻这种负担,剑桥大学的科研人员发现,用复合材料(如增强塑料等)制成的飞机的二氧化碳排放量可以比铝制飞机少20%。

同样,澳大利亚先进的复合材料制造商 Quickstep 开发了一种工艺,可以生产与传统方法输出标准相同的复杂复合材料,而无需缓慢的、能源密集的、成本高昂的高压釜。这使得在现有的航空航天生产周期内利用这些先进材料变得更有可能实现。 

我可以如何做好准备?

改变并非易事,尝试新材料是一个非常微妙的流程:Philippe Loeb表示:"就像厨师在烹饪时用各种调味料进行微调,开发人员在创造新材料的时候也会用不同的物质进行试验。诀窍是理解和建模这些成分的变化,以及它们将如何影响材料的性能。"

新的仿真技术可以帮助材料研发团队以可控且低成本的方式进行这些试验。事实上,在操纵和研究新材料的微观的基本构建块方面,制造商比以往任何时候都更胸有成竹。

Philippe Loeb指出:"得益于建模和仿真技术,我们越来越能够理解材料如何对特定的条件和力做出反应,精确到原子尺度。以及得益于人工智能和机器学习,这些模型变得更加智能和准确。这是一个非常特别的时刻。” 

此外,重新配制对于帮助制造商在新兴的塑料法规方面保持遥遥领先的地位也至关重要,法国于2022年2月全面禁止塑料包装,为了不被竞争出局,相关行业需要快速做出相应的产量调整。 

Philippe Loeb表示:"未来的材料将更加多样化,您必须能够更好地预测它们的表现。若以金属为例,当您开始将我们已经知道的东西与碳纳米结构等新兴知识结合起来时,潜力将是巨大的。"

例如,像 Gerberit 这样的公司能够使用仿真功能来测试其基于陶瓷的产品在现实世界中的表现,并设计适当的模具和制造技术。 

此外,通过化繁为简,我们还缩短了交货时间。Philippe Loeb认为:"仿真技术将缩短新材料的上市时间。我们不仅会加快新材料的发现,还会使用3D打印等新技术来加快扩大生产的速度。在接下来的十年里,如果他们要在行业中发挥充分的潜力,那么这将是至关重要的。"
 

得益于建模和仿真技术,我们越来越能够理解材料如何对特定的条件和力做出反应,精确到原子尺度。以及得益于人工智能和机器学习,这些模型也变得更加智能和准确。这是一个非常特别的时刻。

制造业 > 包装消费品与零售、家居与生活方式 > Dassault Systèmes®
Philippe Loeb
达索系统包装消费品与零售兼家居与生活方式行业副总裁

其他 趋势

通过我们的制造业了解更多

航空航天与国防
弥合虚拟世界和现实世界之间的差距,加速从概念到运作的转变。
转至顶部

世界需要制造商

变革宣言

Manufacturing > Material Of The Future > Dassault Systèmes®

Identifying The Materials Of The Future

From biodegradable plastics to nanoscale structures, new materials will transform the way we live – if we can develop and produce them at scale.

Why should you embrace the materials of tomorrow?

What’s happening?

From the stone age to the bronze age, from the iron age to the current silicon age, materials define, at the most fundamental level, what we can do as a technology-using species. There’s a reason that archaeology uses these terms to talk about the past, and that’s because materials define the shape and capabilities of civilization.

And in our present moment, advances in materials science can offer radical solutions to our most pressing challenges – by re-engineering the world up from the smallest possible particles, giving rise to brand new products and innovative manufacturing processes built on the back of new, futuristic materials

“What is happening in materials innovation is going on at a very small atomic and molecular scale. But it is going to impact our lives on a global scale,” says Philippe Loeb, Vice President, Consumer Packaged Goods & Retail and Home & Lifestyle Industry, Dassault Systèmes. “The products are ultimately just going to be atoms and molecules which were already in existence. It’s just about how they are reimagined and reconfigured with science.”

It’s a field that has seen lively development. From plant-based plastics to cutting-edge nanoscale structures, oxygen-breathing ceramics to new uses for old stalwarts like wood, the materials landscape of the 2020s is an exciting and dynamic one.

It’s getting a big push from governments as well. In November 2022 alone, the UK government announced £95 million (roughly $108 million) in funding for new materials research, including 3D bioprinting for use in tissue engineering and casing for nuclear reactors.

Curious about how other manufacturing industries respond?

Respond to today's challenges with our bespoke solutions

Why does it matter?

New materials aren’t just a gimmick. They are the basis of our future prosperity and will play a critical role in helping us overcome some of the biggest challenges we face today.

Consider sustainability, and the development of sustainable packaging. On a very fundamental level, sustainability is a materials issue: What are we consuming, how are we consuming it, and how can we make our resource use more efficient through the development of responsible product design?

Plastics, for example, are one of the most ubiquitous yet one of the most polluting products in our society – we produce more than 400 million tons of plastic waste every year. However, by transforming our approach to product packaging, we can make plastics and other sustainable materials that can be broken down by bacteria, or can be more readily reused. 

It’s also a materials story in other ways. By making materials lighter, stronger, and more flexible, we can create longer lasting products, whilst minimizing emissions and waste. 

“The link between materials and energy is an interesting one. Firstly, if we use lighter materials to build vehicles like trucks and planes, we can help limit their fuel use. But we can also change the ways we produce the materials themselves, and take advantage of lower-carbon manufacturing processes,” says Loeb. 

Air travel, for instance, is notoriously carbon intensive and notoriously difficult to decarbonize. However, new materials could alleviate that burden – researchers from the University of Cambridge have found that planes built with composite materials (such as reinforced plastics) could emit 20% less CO2 than their aluminum equivalents.

Similarly, Australian advanced composites manufacturer Quickstep has developed a process to produce complex composite materials to the same output standard as traditional methods without the need for slow, energy-intensive, and expensive autoclave machines. This makes it much more possible to utilize these advanced materials within existing aerospace production cycle times. 

How can I prepare?

Change is not straightforward and experimenting with new materials is a delicate process: “Just as a chef fine-tunes a recipe with seasoning as they cook it, so too do developers experiment with substances while creating new materials,” says Loeb. “The trick is to understand and model what those changes in composition do, and how they will affect the performance of a material.”

New simulation technologies are helping materials discovery teams perform these experiments in controlled and cost-effective ways. In fact, when it comes to manipulating and working with the microscopic, elemental building blocks of new materials, manufacturers are better equipped than ever before.

“Thanks to modelling and simulation technologies, we are increasingly able to understand how materials react to certain conditions and forces, right down to the atomic scale,” says Loeb. “And thanks to AI and machine learning, these models are getting smarter and more accurate. It’s a pretty unique moment.” 

Reformulation can also be critical in helping manufacturers stay ahead of emerging plastics regulations – France banned plastic packaging entirely in February 2022, and relevant industries need to adjust their output accordingly and at speed to stay in the game. 

“The materials of the future are going to be much more diverse, and you need to have the capability to better forecast how they behave,” says Loeb. “If you think about metal, when you start to combine what we already know, with a developing knowledge of things like the nanostructure of carbons, there is huge potential.”

A company like Gerberit, for instance, was able to use simulation capabilities to test how it’s ceramic-based products would perform in the real world, and design appropriate molds and manufacturing techniques.  

And by making things easier, we also speed up delivery times. Loeb argues, “Simulation technologies will speed up time-to-market for new materials. We will accelerate not only the discovery of new materials, but also the rate at which we scale up production, using new techniques like 3D printing. Which will be essential if they are to fulfill their potential in the industries of the next decade.”
 

Thanks to modeling and simulation technologies, we are increasingly able to understand how materials react to certain conditions and forces, right down to the atomic scale. And thanks to AI and machine learning, these models are getting smarter and more accurate. It’s a pretty unique moment.

Manufacturing > CPG & Retail and Home & Lifestyle > Dassault Systèmes®
Philippe Loeb
Vice President, Consumer Packaged Goods & Retail and Home & Lifestyle, Dassault Systèmes

Other Trends

THE WORLD NEEDS MANUFACTURERS

A MANIFESTO FOR CHANGE