中国电建集团西北勘测设计研究院有限公司

西北勘测设计研究院采用3DEXPERIENCE平台来确保 整个工程项目周期的数字连续性,从而加快设计流 程、简化协作并实现设计方案的重复使用。

 

能源行业新展望

根据国际能源署(IEA)提供的数据,水力发电是世界上最充 沛的可再生电力源泉,而中国则是全球最大的可再生能源生产 国。国际能源署在其《2018年可再生能源》报告中称,世纪 之交以来,中国水电增长量占全球水电总增长的一半以上。但 现在,变革已初露峥嵘。

由于中国目前致力于发展服务型经济和清洁能源,因此其能源 行业的未来发展前景与过去相比将截然不同。国际能源署预 计,中国能源需求增速将放缓至每年1%左右。此外,基于水 电项目产能放缓的趋势,结合由社会与环境影响导致的大型项 目开发数量减少的现状,正促使该行业的领先企业开辟新的收 入渠道。

西北勘测设计研究院(NWE)是享誉全球的中国设计与工程 咨询公司。该公司已预见到这些变化,并努力让自己的业务适 应当今的全球能源需求。它已从一家传统的水利水电勘察设计 公司转型成为一家技术驱动型工程企业,主要从事各类可再生 能源的综合利用与开发(包括水能、风能、光伏、地热)、水 处理与城市基础设施建设。

西北勘测设计研究院数字与智慧工程院院长杨党锋表示:“如 今,中国在水利水电方面新的开发需求正在放缓,我们已经觉 察到工程建设业务有所减少。这迫使我们通过自身转型,在其 他主要的土木工程市场和国际市场寻求机遇。”
 

用设计打造竞争力

在许多方面,西北勘测设计研究院的规划与“中国制造 2025”不谋而合。后者的意图在于将中国发展成为全球领先 的高科技制造国。西北勘测设计研究院在积极参与全球新能源 建设项目的竞争时发现,更多公司因转向使用数字化和3D设 计有效地提高了创新力和盈利能力,从而能够更好地管理项目 的复杂性及风险,快速适应持续不断的市场变化,以应对激烈 的市场竞争和不断提升的行业要求所带来的双重压力。 

杨党锋表示:“为了解决上述挑战,我们不得不提高我们的项 目管理水平、勘察设计技术和业务创新能力。” 

2010年开始,公司决定与达索系统展开合作,并运用3D技术 来提高设计效率和产品质量,增强市场竞争力。使用达索系统 的设计应用CATIA后,西北勘测设计研究院成功地在水利水电 工程等复杂项目上实现了3D协作设计,帮助其扩大市场份额 和竞争优势。 

基于这一成功经验,西北勘测设计研究院在2016年决定使用 达索系统3DEXPERIENCE®平台,构建一个从勘察设计到工程 建设直至交付运营,贯穿工程项目完整生命周期的基于数据的 数字化工作流。
 

3DEXPERIENCE平台提供 了一些非常有帮助的功能, 如骨架驱动的全流程管理、 参数化设计以及模板与第 三方库的调用。这有助于 我们提升设计效率与设计 质量。

northwest-hydropower-dangfeng
杨党锋西北勘测设计研究院数字
与智慧工程院院长

采用集中化数据平台也有助于提升该公司的决策能力

西北勘测设计研究院数字与智慧工程院的技术集成与研发所 所长马晓东表示:“现在,我们正在开发大量可再生能源项 目和其他相关项目,如水电、新能源、风电、光伏和生物质 燃气。一个水电站可能涉及大量学科,大概有40到50种专业 分类。管理者未必能精通每个学科的专业知识。因此,为了 帮助管理者全面了解每个项目,特别是我们的工程、采购和 施工总承包项目,我们需要使用可视化技术和3D技术来发现 工作细分结构风险,方便快速地展现设计进度和介绍完整的 生命周期概况。” 

马晓东补充道:“通过在统一平台上集成3D设计、项目管 理、仿真分析和其他系统,管理者现在能够更深入地掌握公司 的工程项目,做出明智决策。” 

3D技术有助于提升效率

3D可视化与仿真正在帮助西北勘测设计研究院强化工程流 程,同时提高设计效率和设计质量。该公司的桥梁所是这方 面的最早受益者。 

西北勘测设计研究院清水河项目总工程师、供职于水环境工 程院/城建与交通工程院桥梁所的陈文说:“借助这个平台, 我们能够尽可能缩短用来构建复杂空间结构的时间,切实地 帮助我们的设计人员制作3D和2D施工图纸。对某些超出我们 想象的非常规结构形状,3DEXPERIENCE平台帮助我们在尽 可能短的时间内完成设计构思,并理解复杂结构。” 

虽然西北勘测设计研究院现在借助3D环境开展设计,但是在 中国,2D图纸仍然是通过项目业主和政府审批的标准要求。 使用3DEXPERIENCE平台后,设计人员能够轻松地完成这项 工作。 

陈文说:“过去,使用2D图纸准确地表达复杂结构极具挑战 性。现在,我们能够完美地将3D设计转换成2D图纸,为我们 的设计人员大幅简化图纸制作工作。” 

现在,桥梁所只需要一名设计人员就能创建出复杂结构并转 换成2D图纸,而过去则需要一整支团队。 

通过改变自身的设计流程,西北勘测设计研究院已经成功地 大幅缩短设计周期,降低劳动力成本。 

陈文说:“如果我们在2D环境中设计高度复杂的桥梁,可能 要耗时六个月。而使用3DEXPERIENCE平台并在3D环境中进 行设计,我们可以将设计周期缩短两个月。” 

借助3DEXPERIENCE平 台,我们能够尽可能缩短 用来构建复杂空间结构的 时间。在3D环境中进行设 计,我们可以将开发时间 缩短两个月。

 

northwest-hydropower-wenchen
陈文
西北勘测设计研究院清水河项目 总工程师,供职于水环境工程院/城建 与交通工程院桥梁所

组建全球专家团队

如今,西北勘测设计研究院的员工在工作时不仅协作更紧 密,还能够更好地获取和共享知识,工作也更加投入。 

杨党锋说:“由于我们可以通过网络访问3DEXPERIENCE平 台,因此,无论我们的用户身处何地,他们都能方便地打开 设计,进行检查与审核。该软件使用简便,这对我们的大龄 校审人员来说尤为重要。而且在与我们世界各地的现场施工 团队共享设计时,它也特别方便和有效。” 

通过协同设计,该公司能够充分运用其分散于世界各地的专 家,最终取得最佳结果。陈文表示:“3DEXPERIENCE 平台 将所有专业人员集合在统一平台上,开发项目框架,然后将 项目分解为工作包。通过这种方法,身处不同地点、掌握不 同领域专业知识的设计人员能够开展协作,改进每个项目的 结构设计,显著加快各项工作的完工速度。它帮助我们大幅 度降低沟通成本,同时提高工作效率。” 

关键在于,通过利用公司开发完成的现有设计,工程人员 现在能够加快新开发工作的进程。例如,如果公司为某个 城市设计完成一座桥梁,现在正在其他地方建造另一座桥 梁。工程人员可以借鉴前一个项目的设计、数据和相关信 息,将有价值的部分重复应用到第二座桥梁,而不必重新 逐步验证核实。

马晓东说:“3DEXPERIENCE平台具有很强的灵活性,便于 我们像搭积木一样进行再设计。它将3D设计、项目管理、仿 真计算和其他计算集成到完整模块中,有利于我们的开发工 作和全生命周期服务。”

设想美好未来

展望未来,西北勘测设计研究院正在探索如何使用虚拟现实 (VR)等新技术来测试新的工程项目并向客户进行演示。这 种现代化工作方式有助于提高企业声誉,并提升客户满意度。 

陈文说:“从前,我们的设计人员使用纸质图纸向项目业主 讲解新的设计概念。而后他们采用PowerPoint进行讲解。今 天,我们通过3DEXPERIENCE平台,在VR环境中向他们演示 我们的设计方案,反响很好。近期,我们在云南完成了一个项 目的设计工作,并使用VR技术向客户演示。业主表示有如身 临其境。更重要的是,这种方法有助于消除他对桥梁完工景观 效果存有的任何疑虑。” 

此外,西北勘测设计研究院还计划在3D设计项目管理、 仿真分析和数据分析方面投入更多开发资源。这些都将由 3DEXPERIENCE平台提供大力支持。 

马晓东表示:“未来我们将把项目全生命周期流程推广到设计 项目管理和仿真分析。我们实施数字化系统的最终目标是进一 步提升我们的决策能力。” 

杨党峰补充道:“通过达索系统的3D体验平台,我们能够实 现设计流程的数字化,从而满足我们施工项目的全生命周期管 理要求。这将为数字化建设以及持续的智能运营与维护奠定坚 实基础。”

NWE logo

西北勘测设计研究院简介

西北勘测设计研究院成立于1950年,总部位于中国 西安,是一家享誉全球的集勘测设计、工程总承 包、投资运营于一体的科技型工程公司,是世界五 百强企业——中国电力建设集团(股份)有限公司 的成员企业。

业务范围:清洁能源开发、水生态环境治理、基础 设施建设
收入:100亿
雇员人数:4000余人
总部:中国西安

了解更多信息,请访问:http://www.nwh.cn

Northwest Engineering Corporation

Northwest Engineering Corporation wanted to expand its global activities and diversify its service offering. The company adopted the 3DEXPERIENCE platform to ensure digital continuity across its entire engineering project lifecycle, to speed up its design processes, to streamline collaboration and to enable design reuse.

 

A new energy outlook

Data from the International Energy Agency (IEA) found that hydropower is the world’s largest source of renewable electricity, and China is its biggest producer. Since the turn of the century, China has accounted for over half of worldwide hydropower growth, said IEA in its Renewables 2018 report. But change is on the horizon.

As China now focuses its attention on developing a services based economy and cleaner energy, its energy future promises to be quite different from its energy past. The IEA expects the pace of growth in China’s energy demand to slow to around 1% per year. Plus, a downward trend in hydropower production, in line with less large-project development over social and environmental concerns, is causing leading businesses in the sector to explore new revenue avenues.

Northwest Engineering Corporation (NWE), a globally renowned design and engineering consultancy firm based in China, has anticipated these changes and adapted its business to suit today’s global energy needs. It has transformed itself from a traditional water conservation and hydroelectric survey and design company to a technology-driven engineering enterprise focused on the holistic use and development of various renewable energies including hydro, wind, photovoltaic and geothermal power, as well as water treatment and urban infrastructure construction services.

“Today, the need for new developments surrounding water conservation and hydroelectric power in China is slowing and we’re seeing a decline in engineering construction,” Dangfeng Yang, director of Digital & Smart Engineering Center at NWE, said. “This forces us to transform ourselves and seek opportunities in other leading civil sectors as well as the international market.”
 

Competitive by design

In many ways, NWE’s plans align with the Chinese government’s ‘Made in China 2025’ initiative which seeks to raise the country’s profile as a global high-tech manufacturing leader. As NWE competes in the global arena in new energy construction projects, then, it finds itself under pressure from strong market competition and increasing industry expectations as more companies turn to digital and 3D design to become more innovative and profitable, better manage complexity and risk, and adapt quickly to ongoing market changes.

“To address these challenges, we had to improve our project management, survey and design techniques and business innovation capabilities,” Dangfeng Yang said.

In 2010, the company partnered with Dassault Systèmes to embrace 3D technologies for better design efficiency and product quality as well as stronger market competitiveness. Using Dassault Systèmes design application CATIA, NWE successfully enabled 3D collaborative design for complex projects in power plants, dams, electromechanics and hydroelectric engineering, helping it to grow its market share and competitive advantage.

Based on this success, the company decided in 2016 that it wanted to build a data-based digital workflow across its entire engineering project lifecycle, from survey and design through to engineering, construction, delivery and operation using Dassault Systèmes’ 3DEXPERIENCE® platform.

With Dassault Systèmes platform, we can digitalize our design process to meet the full lifecycle requirements of our constructions. This will create a robust foundation for digitalized construction as well as ongoing intelligent operation and maintenance.

northwest-hydropower-dangfeng
Dangfeng Yang
Director of Digital & Smart Engineering Center, NWE

Digital continuity

Today, the 3DEXPERIENCE platform allows NWE to centrally manage all its data in one place. With digital continuity across the entire business, every stakeholder is now able to efficiently and accurately gain a complete view of every project they’re working on to support informed decision-making and improve productivity.

“Dassault Systèmes solutions integrate multiple design modules to avoid switching between different software and translating different data formats,” Dangfeng Yang, director of Digital & Smart Engineering Center at NWE said. “The 3DEXPERIENCE platform also offers some very helpful capabilities, such as skeleton-driven, full process management, parametric design and access to templates and third-party libraries. We’re using these capabilities to improve our design efficiency and quality.”

Having a centralized data platform is also improving the company’s decision-making capabilities.

“We now have many renewable energy and related projects under development, such as hydropower, new energy, wind power, photovoltaic and biomass gas,” Xiaodong Ma, deputy leader of the Data Integration and R&D Department in the Digital & Smart Engineering Center at NWE, said. “A hydroelectric power plant might involve a wide range of disciplines, roughly 40 to 50, and management will not have expertise in every discipline. So to help them gain a complete view of each project, especially our engineering, procurement and construction general contracting projects, we needed visualization and 3D technologies to identify work breakdown structure risks, quickly and easily show design progress and share an overview of the complete lifecycle.

“By integrating 3D design, project management, simulation analytics and other systems under one platform, management now have a better view of the company’s engineering projects and can make informed decisions,” Xiaodong Ma added. 

3D improves efficiency

3D visualization and simulation is helping NWE to enhance its engineering processes while increasing design efficiency and integrity. The company’s Bridge Department is seeing these benefits first hand.

“With the platform we can minimize the time spent on building complex spatial structures, essentially helping our designers develop 3D and 2D construction drawings,” Wen Chen, chief engineer of the Qingshui River Project, City Construction and Traffic Engineering Department, Aquatic Environment Engineering Academy at NWE said. “For some unconventional structures that are usually beyond our imagination, the 3DEXPERIENCE platform helps us to come up with the design and understand the complex structure in the shortest possible timeframe.”

Even though NWE now designs in 3D, in China, 2D drawings are still required as standard for getting project owner and government approval. Using the 3DEXPERIENCE platform, designers can handle this task with ease.

“Before, it was challenging to accurately represent complex structures in 2D drawings,” Wen Chen said. “Now, we’re able to perfectly transform 3D designs into 2D drawings, significantly simplifying the drawing production stage for our designers.”

Now, the Bridge Department only needs one designer to create a complex structure and translate it into 2D drawings, compared to an entire team that was required before.

By transforming its design processes, NWE has succeeded in significantly reducing its design cycle and labor costs.

“If we develop a highly complex bridge in 2D, it may take six months,” Wen Chen said. Using the 3DEXPERIENCE platform and designing in 3D we can reduce this process by two months.” 

With the 3DEXPERIENCE platform we can minimize the time spent on building complex spatial structures. By designing in 3D, we can reduce the development time by two months.

northwest-hydropower-wenchen
Wen Chen
Chief Engineer of Qingshui River Project, City Construction and Traffic Engineering Department, Aquatic Environment Engineering Academy, NWE

Building a global team of experts

NWE’s employee experience is now more collaborative, more able to capture and share knowledge, and more engaging.

“Because the 3DEXPERIENCE platform can be accessed via the web, it’s easy for our users to open designs and examine and review them from wherever they are based,” Dangfeng Yang said. “The software is user friendly, which is especially important for our senior employees. And it is much more convenient and effective for us when sharing designs with our on-site construction teams worldwide.”

Through collaborative design, the company is able to take advantage of its geographically dispersed experts to create the best possible end results. “The 3DEXPERIENCE platform gathers all professionals on a single platform to develop each project framework and break it down into work packages,” Wen Chen said. “This way, designers based in different locations with different areas of expertise can work together to improve each project’s structural design and finalize everything much quicker. It helps us greatly by reducing our communication costs and improving work efficiency.”

Crucially, engineers can now take advantage of existing designs produced across the company to speed up new developments. For example, if the company has designed a bridge in one city and is now building another elsewhere, engineers can take the designs, data and related information from the first project and reuse what they need for the second without having to revalidate every step. 

“The 3DEXPERIENCE platform’s flexibility enables us to re-engineer like building with blocks,” Xiaodong Ma said. “It integrates 3D design, project management, simulation calculation and other computations into a complete module that benefits our development as well as our full lifecycle services.”
 

Visualizing the future

As NWE looks to the future, it is exploring the use of new technologies such as virtual reality (VR) to test and demonstrate new engineering projects to its clients. This modern way of working is helping to strengthen the company’s reputation and enhance customer satisfaction.

“In the old days, our designers took paper drawings to project owners to share and explain new concepts,” Wen Chen said. “Then they moved to PowerPoint presentations. Today, we’re showing them our design in a VR environment via the 3DEXPERIENCE platform, with impressive results. Recently, we finished the design of a project in Yunnan and demonstrated it to the client using VR. The owner said that he could really experience what the end result would be like and truly visualize it. More importantly, it helped to ease any doubts he had about the bridge’s effect on the landscape.”

The company also has plans to invest more development resources into 3D design project management, simulation analysis and data analytics, all supported by the 3DEXPERIENCE platform.

“In the future, we will further extend our project full lifecycle flow into design project management and simulation analysis,” Xiaodong Ma said. “The ultimate goal of our digitalized system is to further improve our decision-making capabilities.”

Dangfeng Yang added: “With Dassault Systèmes’ platform, we can digitalize our design process to meet the full lifecycle requirements of our constructions. This will create a robust foundation for digitalized construction as well as ongoing intelligent operation and maintenance.”

NWE logo

Focus on Northwest Engineering Corporation

Founded in 1956, Northwest Engineering Corporation, a subsidiary of China Power Construction Corporation, is an internationally renowned technical engineering consultancy firm specializing in survey & design, EPC (Engineering, Procurement, Construction) and investment operation.

Products: Clean energy development,aquatic ecological environment management, infrastructure construction
Revenue: RMB 10 Billion
Employees: 4,000 employees
Headquarters: Xi’an, China

For more information: http://www.nwh.cn