T80-2017: Notebook Cloud renewal with fewer seats automatically deactivates users
Notebook Cloud
If a Notebook Cloud subscription is renewed but the number of seats is reduced, then the system automatically inactivates the number of reduced users. For example if changing from ten users to seven, then three users are automatically inactivated. No option is given to the administrator as to which users to inactivate. Furthermore, this change occurs immediately on the date that the subscription is updated - even if the previous subscription (with the full number of users) still has some time to run. Thus valid users are being deactivated by the system.
Resolution:
The deactivated users can be immediately reactivated by a Notebook Cloud administrator via the Cloud Admin tool. At the end of the original subscription term, the number of active users should then be reduced by the administrator. If this is not done then random users will again be deactivated.
This issue has been logged as a defect (issue number CLOP-117) and will be considered for inclusion in a future release. To check if this issue has been addressed since this article was published, please search for the issue number in the BIOVIA Community Knowledge Base.
If this issue is still open and you wish to be added as an affected user, then please contact BIOVIA Support.