T54-2017 Saving a document through the Unsaved Changes prompt will eventually cause the document data to be deleted.
Insight
If a user has changed an Insight document, and then navigates away from that document, Insight will show an 'Unsaved Changes' dialog which asks the user if he wants to save the changes first. If the user clicks 'Save' in this dialog, the modified document will initially be saved correctly. Due to an Insight defect however the actual document data will be deleted after some time (typically 10 to 70 minutes). As a consequence, the user can still see the document in the Project Explorer, however, when he tries to open the document an error is thrown, indicating that the raw data associated with the document are missing.
Resolution:
This issue has been logged as a defect (issue number SDX-15070) and is fixed in the soon to be released BIOVIA Insight 2018 version. BIOVIA is also preparing a Hotfix to address this issue in Insight 2017 R2. The attached Pipeline Pilot protocol helps Insight Administrators to check if any of their Insight documents are impacted by this defect.
As a solution BIOVIA recommends to upgrade to Insight 2018 or Insight 2017 R2 HF2 when they become available.
As a workaround for the time being, BIOVIA asks Insight Administrators to advise their users to not click 'Save' in the 'Unsaved Changes' dialog whenever it comes up. Cancel the dialog instead, and save the modified document using the regular 'Save' or 'Save as' button. Now continue with the action which originally had triggered the 'Unsaved Changes' dialog. If you had accidentally clicked the 'Save' button in the 'Unsaved Changes' dialog, immediately try to reopen the document that was just saved, and then again save it through the regular 'Save' button. This should work if you reopen and save the document within 10 minutes after saving, and might work up to 70 minutes after saving.
Error Mesage:
Unable to load the raw data associated with the "my_document" document. Please contact your system administrator for help.