Composites Modeling with Abaqus

On July 01, 2015 10:00 (GMT-9.5)
Online

Time Zones: 10:00 am IST (Mumbai) / 12:30 pm SGT (Singapore) / 12:30 pm AWST (Perth) / 2:30 pm AEST (Sydney)

Composite materials play an important role in modern structural design.  To effectively design and analyze these structures while ensuring performance and reliability, companies are finding the need to evolve their analysis methods to include more fidelity in their models. Abaqus provides a wide range of innovative modeling and analysis techniques to address the unique challenges posed by composite materials. This eSeminar is aimed at engineers and analysts wishing to acquaint themselves with the composites modeling capabilities in Abaqus.

What to expect:

  • Modeling of mixed composites – a methodology to create structures with a number of discrete layers
  • Pre- and post-processing of composite FEA models and their results
    • Performing draping operations
    • Extruding a composite shell model in to solid elements and generating the corresponding properties and ply drop-offs
    • Associativity with CATIA
  • Modeling damage and failure in composites
    • Damage and failure of fiber-reinforced composites
    • Cohesive behavior and VCCT techniques to model delamination

About the Presenter

G. Umashankar
SIMULIA Technical Specialist, SIMULIA India

Umashankar is a member of the Center for Simulation Excellence (CSE), working as a Technical Specialist for Dassault Systems India. He has six years of experience in the simulation domain in the fields of solid and structural mechanics. In his current role, Umashankar regularly interacts with members of the simulation community to help them make the best use of SIMULIA products for solving real-world problems. He has a master’s degree in Mechanical Engineering from Deakin University, Australia, and a bachelor’s degree from Visvesvaraya Technological University.