Using XFEM in Abaqus to Model Fracture and Crack Propagation

From 10:30 January 23, 2014 to 23:00 February 09, 2014
Online

Join us on this FREE one hour eSeminar. Register below for the live seminar in your time zone.

Engineers are under increasing pressure to improve and extend the operating life of structural components. Abaqus FEA provides proven robust capabilities for modeling bulk fracture and crack propagation in composites.

This live eSeminar will focus on basic concepts of extended Finite Element Method (XFEM) in Abaqus, damage modeling and the creation of an XFEM fracture model. There will also be a short hands-on demonstration using Abaqus 6.13.

Advantages of using XFEM in Abaqus include:

  • Easier crack definition
  • Improved convergence rates for stationary cracks
  • Simplified mesh refinement studies

Registration

This eSeminar will be held live at three unique times to make it possible for you to attend at a time convenient to you. Register for the time that best suits your schedule:

Register for broadcast #1:

10:30 am IST (India)
1 pm Singapore
1 pm Perth, Australia
3 pm Sydney, Australia

Instructors:
G Umashankar, SIMULIA Technical Specialist, Dassault Systèmes

Register for broadcast #2:

2 pm UTC (London)
3 pm CET (Paris)
9 am EST (U.S.)

Arun Krishnan, Ph.D.
SIMULIA Technical Specialist, Dassault Systèmes

Register for broadcast #3:

12 pm PST (U.S.)
3 pm EST (U.S.)

Arun Krishnan, Ph.D.
SIMULIA Technical Specialist, Dassault Systèmes

Instructor for Broadcast 1

G Umashankar, SIMULIA Technical Specialist, Dassault Systèmes

Umashankar is a member of the Center for Simulation Excellence (CSE) working as a Technical Specialist. He has over 5 years of experience in the simulation domain working for Wheels India Pvt Ltd, L&TIES & Robert Bosch prior joining Simulia India. He regularly interacts with members of the simulation community to help them make the best use of SIMULIA products for solving real world problems, through training and support. He holds Master's Degree in "Automotive Product Development" from Deakin University, Australia and Bachelors in Mechanical Engineering from Visvesvaraya Technological University, Bangalore. His work spans multiple industries and areas in the fields of solid and structural mechanics.

Instructor for Broadcast 2 and 3

Arun Krishnan, Ph.D., SIMULIA Technical Specialist, Dassault Systèmes

Arun has a PhD and MS in Civil Engineering from Vanderbilt University with focus on fracture and failure in advanced composite materials. He obtained his Bachelor’s degree from IIT Madras. Arun also has research experience as a post-doctoral research associate at the Composite Vehicle Research Center at Michigan State University. He has authored several research papers in leading international journals on experimental and numerical techniques in modeling fracture and failure in composites.

Contact Us

For more information, please contact us.

Dassault Systemes India Private Limited
Tel: +91 44 43443000
Fax: +91 44 4300 9770
Email: Arthi.RAJAGOPAL(at)3ds.com