Power of SIMULIA Portfolio 2: Enhanced Abaqus Welding Interface (Asia-Pacific)

On January 25, 2017 11:00 (GMT+5.5)
Online
English

11:00 - 12:00 IST
13:30 - 14:30 CST / SGT / AWST
14:30 - 15:30  JST / KST
16:30 - 17:30 AEDT

Abaqus has always been a software of choice for modeling welding in various industries.This eSeminar will highlight the capabilities of Abaqus Welding Interface (AWI), including some recent enhancements that make realistic simulation of welding process possible in Abaqus.  AWI places an emphasis on the ease of weld model preparation and setup while supporting options and features that allow realistic predictions of quantities of interest such as distortion and residual stresses. A flux-based energy input option using the Goldak double ellipsoid model is now available for use with the AWI.  Another significant enhancement takes advantage of the new, strain-free element activation technique developed by SIMULIA R&D that has applicability in many important areas including welding.  This new technique improves preprocessing and analysis performance significantly for models of processes involving material deposition such as welding and additive manufacturing, with strain-free element activation no longer a step-dependent feature.

Who should attend the eSeminar?

This eSeminar would be of interest to anyone using (or considering using) the power of simulation as a cost-effective alternative to costly experimental trial-and-error approach to understand distortion, residual stresses etc. resulting from the welding process.This eSeminar is appropriate for both academic and commercial audience.

Speakers

Sakya Tripathy
Sakya Tripathy, Technical Solutions Consultant, Additive Manufacturing

Sakya Tripathy is a Technical Solutions Consultant in the SIMULIA Growth’s Industry Diversification initiative focusing on Additive Manufacturing and Multiscale Material Modeling technologies. As a part of this group, he engages with customers and partners for technical enablement. He also works closely with Simulia R&D and other DS brands to advance unified solutions especially in the additive manufacturing domain. He has been with DS for 5 years during which he has held multiple technical positions. He holds a PhD in mechanical engineering from University of Virginia and a bachelor’s degree from Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur.

Mike Shubert
Mike Shubert, SIMULIA Expert Solution Consultant, SIMULIA South

Mike finished Masters Degree from University of Colorado in 1991, and has worked for DS for 25 years since that time. He started in support then worked briefly in the Explicit dynamics group before moving to the Abaqus/CAE development group where he spent 6 years until he moved to the Texas office. For the last 12 years he has worked at the South office in Texas working on scripting and customization of Abaqus/CAE.

Register Now!