Power of SIMULIA Portfolio 12: Concept to Production Using Simulation Insight for Additive Manufacturing (North America)

On December 15, 2016 12:00 (GMT-8)
Online

12:00 pm - 01:00 pm PST (San Francisco)
01:00 pm - 02:00 pm MST (Denver)
02:00 pm - 03:00 pm CST (Chicago)
03:00 pm - 04:00 pm EST (New York)

This eSeminar, will explore how simulation enables a seamless connection between virtual and real representations of what we design and build with new Additive Manufacturing technologies.

Realistic physics-based simulation is a keystone that enables us to construct innovative and reliable industrial additive manufacturing processes. In this eSeminar, we will explore how simulation enables a seamless connection between virtual and real representations of what we design and build with new Additive Manufacturing technologies. We will specifically address the following:

  • In-silico material engineering for parts with heterogeneous internal structures and material compositions as well as repeated and varying in-fill or material deposition patterns using our new built-in multi-scale homogenization technologies
  • Generative design of organic and optimal topologies that meet very specific functional requirements and process-dependent manufacturing constraints and agile geometry reconstruction for digital continuity in the PLM environment
  • Layer-wise simulation of the manufacturing process using physics-based models to predict the likelihood of unwanted part distortions and residual stresses to ensure process control, reliability, and repeatability

Who should attend?

Existing users of simulation software that are involved in Additive Manufacturing initiatives will gain insight into new developments that they can explore in our solution offering, Additive Manufacturing experts will learn how simulation can alleviate efforts in their current trial-and-error experimentation.  Leaders and decision-makers will see possibilities in redirecting energy in their engineering organizations to realize cost and quality benefits for their existing manufacturing investmen

Speaker

James Fort, Technical Solution Consultant, Additive Manufacturing

James Fort is a Senior Technical Consultant with SIMULIA (the Dassault Systèmes brand for Realistic Simulation) focusing on solutions that help realize the potential of Additive Manufacturing technologies.  These include design optimization solutions that unlock new possibilities for unconventional lightweight structures and predictive process simulation solutions that increase reliability and reduce costs associated with Additive Manufacturing. He started his career at SIMULIA in 2006 after receiving his degree in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor and has held a variety of technical and strategy roles at SIMULIA, including on-site work with key customers in industry.

Register Now!