Corporate Report > 2019 > We are where health becomes personalized > Innovations > Banner > Dassault Systèmes®

Innovations

Découvrez les derniers projets innovants développés avec nos solutions: PKvitality, FEops, BioSerenity, le projet Living Heart, Hugh Herr...

Corporate Report > 2019 > We are where health becomes personalized > Innovations > Image > Dassault Systèmes®

PKVITALITY: UN DISPOSITIF DE SURVEILLANCE ATTRACTIF ET INTELLIGENT

PKvitality est un fabricant français spécialisé dans les dispositifs médicaux portables. Pour les personnes souffrant dediabète, l'entreprisedéveloppe une montre connectée mesurant letaux deglucose, en permanence etsansaucune intervention, etquialerte son porteur ainsi que sesproches en cas d’épisode d’hypo ou d’hyperglycémie. Un patch hebdomadaire adhérant à la peau mesure, grâce à des micro-aiguilles, les niveaux de glucose dans le liquide interstitiel.

La montre interprète lesignal renvoyé par le patch, stocke et affiche les informations et peut lessynchroniser sur le cloud. Lesalertes sont transmises au patient par une vibration. Pratique, discret, ceproduit bio-portable perfectionné, développé sur la plateforme 3DEXPERIENCE, aideles patients àmieux contrôler leur état de santé, en toute discrétion.

FEOPS PLANIFIE ET PERSONNALISE LES INTERVENTIONS CARDIAQUES

FEops est une société belge qui a développé, avec le soutien du 3DEXPERIENCE Lab, la première et la seule technologie de simulation spécifique au patient pour les interventions cardiaques structurelles. La solution prédit avec précision comment les appareils et les prothèses cardiaques interagiront avec un patient précis. FEops propose également une plateforme de planification préopératoire unique pour les interventions cardiaques structurelles.

Accessible, cette plateforme évolutive, automatisée et basée sur l‘intelligence artificielle contribue à de meilleurs résultats cliniques ainsi qu‘à une meilleure efficacité des procédures. L‘anatomie de centaines de patients réels estainsi accessible sur le cloud, offrant à terme une plateforme dédiée à la formation des médecins et à l‘environnement des essais cliniques, ainsi qu’un outil demodélisation d’appareils et d’implants prothétiques utilisant un groupe diversifié de patients.

Corporate Report > 2019 > We are where health becomes personalized > Innovations > Image> Dassault Systèmes®
Corporate Report > 2019 > We are where health becomes personalized > Innovations > Image> Dassault Systèmes®

BIOSERENITY: UNE MEILLEURE QUALITÉ DE VIE

En juin 2019, Dassault Systèmes arenforcé son partenariat avec BioSerenity en entrant à son capital. Fondée en 2014 et déjà soutenue parle 3DEXPERIENCE Lab, l’entreprise française est spécialisée dans la santé personnalisée. Elle développe tout d‘abord des dispositifs portables composés d‘éléments textiles et decapteurs discrets permettant unsuivi cardiaque, épileptique, urinaire ou du sommeil en continu. En complément de ce volet medtech, BioSerenity a investi le domaine d‘étude des signaux et notamment des biomarqueurs.

Véritable science de la donnée, data science, cet aspect donne une compréhension fine despatients et permet d‘envisager unparcours de santé plus personnalisé à travers une gestion raisonnée etrespectueuse de ces données. Enfin, le côté médical n‘est pas enreste avec une approche servicielle en mode SaaS dite Health (as a Service). La compréhension d‘une pathologie ainsi que son traitement s‘individualise alors avec une efficacité inédite et un coût maîtrisé.

Dassault Systèmes est partenaire sur l‘ensemble des défis de BioSerenity notamment dans une implantation plus large et une pratique basée surlejumeau virtuel pour relier les équipements les plus performants etles moins invasifs, pour appréhender toute la diversité des parcours et conférer au soin une personnalisation enfin accessible.

LIVING HEART: UN PROJET PORTÉ PAR UN ÉCOSYSTÈME DE PARTENAIRES

Le projet Living Heart, qui vise à simuler le cœur humain en 3D, a été lancé par Dassault Systèmes conjointement à un partenariat avec la Food and Drug Administration en 2014. Il ciblait le développement de paradigmes de test pour l’insertion, la mise en place et le fonctionnement de différents dispositifs cardiovasculaires. Le partenariat de recherche, initialement conclu pour une durée de cinq ans, a été reconduit pour la même durée en 2019 dans le but d’utiliser Living Heart comme substitut partiel des essais sur les animaux et les humains. 

Le projet repose sur un écosystème mondial de partenaires incluant plus de 130 organisations dans 24 pays et rassemblant fabricants d’équipements médicaux, cardiologues praticiens, enseignants, organismes de recherche et agences de réglementation. Ensemble, ils développent et valident des modèles virtuels de cœurs humains personnalisés de haute précision ou “clinique virtuelle”. Ces modèles serviront de base pour la médecine cardiovasculaire in silico, l’enseignement et la formation, la conception d’équipements médicaux, le diagnostic clinique et la réglementation, accélérant la transmission des innovations scientifiques sur les soins apportés aux patients.

La réalisation d’essais cliniques virtuels permettra non seulement l’identification précoce des risques, mais aussi de définir la population effective de patients etde fournir des groupes témoin pourréduire le besoin de recruter degrands ensembles de patients.

Cette démarche est maintenant utilisée pour diagnostiquer et traiter les troubles cérébraux et les implants orthopédiques personnalisés. Enappliquant les technologies de l’intelligence artificielle et de la réalité virtuelle, les mystères du corps humain se précisent. Le monde de l’innovation médicale est en train de changer.

Il s’agit d’une transition majeure de l’histoire, où les objets conçus peuvent désormais devenir partie intégrante de l’identité corporelle d’un être humain.

HUGH HERR, GRIMPEUR BIONIQUE ET PROFESSEUR AU MIT*

Grimpeur de haut niveau, Hugh Herr a dû être amputé de ses deux jambes au niveau du genou, àla suite de graves gelures survenues lors d’une ascension hivernale. Comme il ne pouvait pas imaginer sa vie sans l’escalade, il a créé des jambes prothétiques lui permettant de continuer à grimper. Chacune d’elles dispose de trois ordinateurs miniaturisés, de douze capteurs et d’un actionneur en forme de tendon musculaire: il danse, court, saute, et surtout, pratique à nouveau l’escalade auplus haut niveau.

Cet appareillage a été conçu àl‘aide de SOLIDWORKS. Mais Hugh Herr a décidé d’aller encore plus loin, en passant du membre prothétique au membre bionique. Biophysicien, ilcodirige en effet le Center for Extreme Bionics ausein du MIT Media Lab, dont les équipes ont inventé l‘AMI (Interface Myoneurale Agoniste-Antagoniste).

Le principe consiste à suturer chirurgicalement deux muscles l’un à l’autre. Lorsque le muscle agoniste est activé électriquement, il se contracte et étire sonpartenaire, l‘antagoniste. Le muscle comporte naturellement des capteurs biologiques qui détectent cette dynamique, et envoient au système nerveux central des informations très riches : lelienentre le cerveau et les membres prothétiques estainsi réalisé. À chaque articulation robotique correspond une paire d‘AMI. Sur chacun des deux muscles, des capteurs proprioceptiques synthétiques mesurent les propriétés de chaque muscle, et les communiquent aux ordinateurs pilotant le membre bionique.

Lorsque la personne pense avec son cerveau et bouge son membre fantôme, ses muscles se déplacent de façon dynamique, et transmettent au robot l’ordre debouger. C’est donc le cerveau qui pilote le robot, lesmuscles en retour transmettant au cerveau lesmouvements du membre bionique. Le niveau d‘incarnation entre le système nerveux etlamécatronique est alors très profond.

Hugh Herr estime qu’il s’agit d’une transition majeure de l‘histoire, où les objets conçus peuvent désormais devenir partie intégrante de l’identité corporelle d’un être humain.

*Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Articles similaires

Corporate Report > 2019 > We are where health becomes personalized > A new leader in life sciences > Banner > Dassault Systèmes®
Corporate Report > 2019 > We are where health becomes personalized > Digital transformation and the business of healthcare > Banner > Dassault Systèmes®
Corporate Report > 2019 > We are where health becomes personalized > Improving healthcare by collaborating, learning and practicing > Banner > Dassault Systèmes®

Corporate Report > 2019 > We are where health becomes personalized > Innovations > Banner > Dassault Systèmes®

Innovations

Discover the latest innovative projects: PKvitality, FEops, BioSerenity, The Living Heart Project, Hugh Herr...

Corporate Report > 2019 > We are where health becomes personalized > Innovations > Image > Dassault Systèmes®

PKVITALITY: AN ATTRACTIVE AND SMART DIABETES MONITORING DEVICE

PKvitality is a French manufacturer specializing in wearable medical devices. For diabetes sufferers, it is developing a smartwatch that measures their glucose levels constantly and in a non-invasive way, and alerts wearers and their loved ones in the event of a hypo- or hyperglycemic episode. A patch applied to the skin every week measures glucose levels in interstitial fluid using microneedles.

The smartwatch interprets the signal sent by the patch, stores and displays information, and synchronizes information in the cloud. Alerts are sent to the patient using vibrations. This bio-wearable device, developed and honed using the 3DEXPERIENCE platform, is a more practical and totally discreet way for patients to check their health status.

FEOPS: PLANNING AND CUSTOMIZING HEART INTERVENTIONS

FEops is a Belgian company that has developed, with the support of the 3DEXPERIENCE Lab, the first and only patient-specific simulation technology for structural heart interventions. The solution accurately predicts how heart devices and implants will interact with a given patient. FEops also offers a unique pre-operative planning platform for structural heart interventions.

This accessible, upgradable and automated platform uses artificial intelligence to help deliver better clinical results and make procedures more effective. Anatomical information about hundreds of real patients is accessible in the cloud; this eventually will provide a way of training medics and create an environment for clinical trials, along with a tool for modeling devices and implants using a diversified patient group.

Corporate Report > 2019 > We are where health becomes personalized > Innovations > Image> Dassault Systèmes®
Corporate Report > 2019 > We are where health becomes personalized > Innovations > Image> Dassault Systèmes®

BIOSERENITY: A BETTER QUALITY OF LIFE

In June 2019, Dassault Systèmes strengthened its partnership with BioSerenity by taking an equity stake in the company. BioSerenity, founded in France in 2014 and already supported by the 3DEXPERIENCE Lab, specializes in personalized healthcare. It is developing wearable devices comprising textile elements and discrete sensors that allow constant heart, epilepsy, urinary and sleep monitoring. As well as its medtech business, BioSerenity also analyzes signals, particularly biomarkers.

Using science data, the company achieves an in-depth understanding of patients to devise a more customized care pathway through careful, responsible management of the data. BioSerenity also operates in the medical field as a provider of Healthcare as a Service (HaaS). Through its efforts, pathologies can be understood and treated on a more personal level, with unprecedented efficiency and at a reasonable cost.

Dassault Systèmes is working in partnership with BioSerenity as it addresses all its challenges, particularly in terms of expanding its presence and adopting virtual twin technology to design the most effective and least invasive devices, to ensure that care pathways reflect the full diversity of their patients, and to personalize care in an affordable way.

LIVING HEART: A PROJECT TO SET A NEW STANDARD FOR INNOVATION

The Living Heart Project, which aims to simulate the human heart in 3D, was launched by Dassault Systèmes, in partnership with the US Food and Drug Administration, in 2014. The goal is to develop new testing paradigms for the insertion, placement and performance of cardiovascular devices. The five-year collaboration delivered on that goal and was extended for an additional five years in 2019, with a new target of using the Living Heart as a partial replacement for animal and human testing in clinical trials.

The project is supported by a global ecosystem, which has expanded to include more than 130 different organizations in 24 countries, representing pharmaceutical and medical device manufacturers, cardiologists, teachers, research organizations and regulatory agencies. Together, they are developing and validating high-precision, customized digital twins of the human heart, or “virtual clinics.” They serve as a basis for in silico cardiovascular medicine, teaching and training, medical device and drug design, clinical diagnostics and regulatory science, speeding up the translation of scientific innovation into improved care for patients.

Conducting virtual clinical trials will not only make it possible to identify risks at an early stage, they also can define the effective patient population and provide synthetic control arms to reduce the need to recruit large groups of patients.

The same methodology is now being used for diagnosing and treating brain disorders and personalized orthopedic implants. Applying artificial intelligence and virtual reality technologies, the mysteries of the human body are becoming clearer. The world of medical innovation is changing forever.

This represents a major inflection point in history, in which designed objects can become an integral part of a human being’s physical identity.

HUGH HERR, BIONIC CLIMBER AND MIT PROFESSOR*

Expert climber Hugh Herr had both legs amputated at the knee after suffering severe frostbite following a winter climbing accident. He couldn’t imagine life without climbing, and so he designed prosthetic legs that would allow him to pursue his passion. Each leg contains three miniature computers, 12 sensors and an actuator in the shape of a tendon, allowing him to dance, jump and, above all, climb again to the highest standard.

The system was designed with the help of SOLIDWORKS. But Hugh Herr wanted to go even further, from prosthetic to bionic limbs. A biophysicist by training, he is joint head of the Center for Extreme Bionics at MIT Media Lab, whose teams invented the AMI (AgonistAntagonist Myoneural Interface). The principle consists of surgically stitching muscles together.

When the agonist muscle is electrically stimulated, it contracts and pulls on its partner, the antagonist muscle. The muscle naturally contains biological sensors that detect this interplay and send a host of information to the central nervous system, and so the connection between the brain and the prosthetic limb is made. The system employs a pair of AMIs for each robotic joint. Synthetic proprioceptive sensors on each muscle measure their properties and send that information to the computers controlling the bionic limb.

When users guide their phantom limbs using their brains, their muscles move dynamically and give the robot the order to move. The brain therefore controls the robot, and the muscles send information about the bionic limb’s movements back to the brain. In this way, mechatronics and the nervous system become very deeply integrated.

Herr believes that this represents a major inflection point in history, in which designed objects can become an integral part of a human being’s physical identity.

*Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Related articles

Corporate Report > 2019 > We are where health becomes personalized > A new leader in life sciences > Banner > Dassault Systèmes®
Corporate Report > 2019 > We are where health becomes personalized > Digital transformation and the business of healthcare > Banner > Dassault Systèmes®
Corporate Report > 2019 > We are where health becomes personalized > Improving healthcare by collaborating, learning and practicing > Banner > Dassault Systèmes®