Board of Directors

The Board of Directors of Dassault Systèmes is composed of nine members. Charles Edelstenne is the Chairman of the Board and Bernard Charlès, is the President and Chief Executive Officer.

Charles Edelstenne

Chairman of the Board

Biography: Charles Edelstenne was the founder of Dassault Systèmes in 1981 and was its Managing Director (Gérant) until it was transformed into a société anonyme in 1993. From 1993 to 2002, Mr. Edelstenne was Chairman and Chief Executive Officer (Président‑Directeur Général) of Dassault Systèmes, and since 2002, Mr. Edelstenne has served as Chairman of the Board. Mr. Edelstenne devotes the majority of his time to his duties at Groupe Dassault, as indicated opposite.

Bernard Charlès

Vice-Chairman of the Board of Directors - Chief Executive Officer

Biography: Bernard Charlès has been Chief Executive Officer (Directeur Général) of Dassault Systèmes since 2002 when Mr. Edelstenne became solely the Chairman of the Company’s Board. Since 1995, Mr. Charlès has had executive functions which he shared with Mr. Edelstenne. Prior to holding this position, Mr. Charlès served as Director of the New Technology, Research and Development and Strategy department from 1986 to 1988 and as President of Strategy, Research & Development from 1988 to 1995.

Thibault de Tersant

Senior Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer

Biography: Thibault de Tersant has been Senior Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of Dassault Systèmes since 2003. He joined Dassault Systèmes in 1988 as Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer. Prior to joining Dassault Systèmes, Mr. de Tersant served as a finance executive at Dassault International. Mr. de Tersant is also a member of the Board of Directors of the DFCG (the French National Association of Chief Financial Officers and Financial Controllers).


Jean-Pierre Chahid Nouraï

Independent Director

Biography: Jean-Pierre Chahid‑Nouraï is an independent consultant. He was a managing Director (Administrateur Délégué) of Finanval Conseil from 1992 to 2007. A former member of the Executive Team (Gérance) and Chief Financial Officer of Michelin, Mr. Chahid‑Nouraï has also worked as an investment banker for MM. Lazard Frères et Cie, Banque Vve Morin-Pons, Financière Indosuez and S.G. Warburg and as a consultant with McKinsey & Co. He has also contemporaneously taught finance at ESSEC, the Centre de Formation à l’Analyse Financière, INSEAD and CEDEP (Centre Européen d’Education Permanente).

Catherine Dassault




Marie-Hélène Habert-Dassault


Biography: After a Master’s degree in Business Law and Taxation, a business law practitioner diploma (Assas, 1988) and a Master’s in Strategy and Marketing (Sciences Po, 1989), Marie-Hélène Habert began her career at DDB Publicité in London as a media planning consultant. She joined the Dassault Group in 1991 as Deputy Director of Communications. Since 1998, she has been Group Director of Communication and Patronage.

Arnoud De Meyer

Independent Director

Biography: Arnoud De Meyer is President of the Singapore Management University. Mr. De Meyer is a specialist in the management of innovation and has published numerous articles and books on this subject. He was previously Director of Judge Business School (University of Cambridge, U.K.) and Professor of Technology Management at INSEAD and Deputy Dean of INSEAD in France in charge of Administration and External Relations. He has also taught at Waseda University and Keio Business School in Japan and created the INSEAD Campus in Singapore.



Toshiko Mori

Independent Director

Biography: Toshiko Mori is the Robert P. Hubbard Professor in the Practice of Architecture at Harvard University’s Graduate School of Design and was the chairman of the Department of Architecture from 2002 to 2008. She is principal of Toshiko Mori Architect, and founder of VisionArc, a think-tank promoting global dialog for a sustainable future. Her firm’s recent work includes performance spaces for the Brooklyn Children’s Museum and for ART/New York, as well as the School of Environmental Science for Brown University, a Master Plan for New York University, and a laboratory facility for Novartis’ Cambridge Campus. She is also a Member of the World Economic Forum Global Agenda Council on Design & Innovation, Member of the G1 Summit (Japan) and Master Jury Member of the Aga Khan Prize.

Odile Desforges

Independent Director


Biography: Odile Desforges graduated from the Ecole Centrale Paris in 1973. She began her career at the Transport Research Institute, before joining Renault in 1981 as Planner and then Product Engineer. In 1986, she joined the Purchasing Department. She was Body Equipment Purchasing General Manager for Renault/Volvo Purchasing Organization, then for Renault. In 1999, she became Executive Vice-President of Renault VI-Mack Group, before becoming President of Volvo Group’s 3P Business Unit.

In 2003, she was appointed Senior Vice-President, Purchasing, and Chairman and Managing Director of Renault Nissan Purchasing Organization. Between March 1, 2009 and July 1, 2012, she was Executive Vice-President, Engineering and Quality, and a member of the Group Executive Committee. She is currently a non-executive Director of Safran and Sequana.



Laurence Lescourret

Independent Director

Biography: Laurence Lescourret has been an associate professor at the Finance Department of ESSEC Business School since 2010. She is also a director of ESSEC’s “Capital Markets and Regulation” Excellence Center and an affiliate academic researcher at the Centre de Recherche en Economie et Statistique (CREST).

She holds a PhD in finance from HEC Paris (2003), a Master in management from EDHEC, a Master “104 Finance” from Paris Dauphine University, and a Master in political economy analysis from the Ecole d’Economie de Paris. Between 2004 and 2011, she was first an assistant professor, co-director and ultimately director of the ESSEC Finance Department. She also taught at ENSAE between 2000 and 2010.

As an academic researcher, she is the author of several publications on organizing and regulating capital markets and has received distinction for her work. She was the 2013 recipient of the Vega Prize from the Federation of European Securities Exchanges and received the 2015 award for best research article on derivative products granted by the IFSID (Montreal Institute of Structured Finance and Derivatives).