全球领袖系列

对话 Michel Tellier - Dassault Systèmes 航天与国防业务副总裁

过去 17 年来,Dassault Systèmes 航天与国防业务副总裁 Michel J. Tellier 是 Dassault Systèmes 航天与国防副总裁,已帮助规模不等的航天与国防公司实现业务增长,并更有效地响应其客户需求。 Tellier 作为经过培训的机械工程师在 Bombardier 航空公司开始其职业生涯,当时他曾带领加拿大公司完成了向基于 3D 数字设计的飞机开发流程的转型。 在产品生命周期管理和全球供应链协作的实施方面,他拥有丰富的经验。 Tellier 最近会见了《航空周刊与空间技术》前任主编 Tony Velocci 并探讨了航天与国防行业的现状,其中包括挑战与机遇。

摘要

《航空周刊与空间技术》近期对最佳绩效公司的研究表明, 与欧洲航天与国防公司相比,美国公司在独立研究和开发方面投入的资源相对其总收入的百分比较小。 在当前强调价格适宜性以及行业日益增强的规避风险心理环境下,是否仍然有必要作出此类投资?

衡量公司的价值存在不同方式。 一种衡量标准是其人力资本的价值。 工程师们都喜欢创新,愿意创造新的产品。 如果您的所作所为不能吸引并保留最出色的人才,那么您的业务也不会有什么好的结果。 有一种说法认为打造卓越文化应该对独立研发 (IR&D) 投入更多而不是更少。

此外,创新型高绩效公司的决定因素在于其人员,而不是其产品。 如果您不能为他们提供创新环境,则无法吸引最出色的工程师。 Google 和其他一些公司正在不遗余力地吸引最出色的人才。 航天行业正在努力吸引关键领域的最顶级工程师和技术人才。

在为实现卓越运营打下坚实基础的过程当中,吸引最佳人才就是迈出第一步。 第二步就是对科学和技术作出投资。 如果您对研发投资不足,则无法创造新一代产品,也就不能将自己与竞争对手区分开来并实现业务增长。 赢取更多业务的关键不在于您过去做了什么,而在于您能为将来贡献什么样的创新和新技术。 这就是真实的差别。 只是简单地重复昨天的工作绝对无法让您的企业脱颖而出。 我相信,在研发方面不积极投入 [自身资源] 的公司,最终甚至会无法生存下去。

通过其他行业的业务,您认为航天与国防公司能够吸取什么样的经验教训?

汽车行业就有一些经验教训。 捕获客户设想的能力就是促使他们成功或失败的因素。 当然也有所差别,他们推广和销售的都是量产产品,而航天与国防行业则恰恰相反。

一般来说,航天及国防行业绩效不佳的公司都欠缺哪些要素?

我将从反面来回答:绩效最佳的公司通常都着眼于未来,关注的是对新技术领域的投入。 对保持相关性并确保长期成功而言,忘记上一代产品并创建下一代产品这一过程是至关重要的。

我们使用产品生命周期管理 (PLM) 软件,帮助客户更轻松地管理困难点。 我们不久前才投入了数十亿美元来创建我们所说的 3DEXPERIENCE 平台,这是新一代的 PLM 软件,目标在于优化产品创建。 我们相信它就是先进的代表,并且正在为多个行业的客户积极部署,其中就包括航天与国防。


[...]

我们的目标是帮助客户尽量有效地创建新产品,并最大程度地利用其研发投资。

Michel Tellier Dassault Systèmes 航天及国防业务副总裁

Global Leaders Series

A conversation with Michel Tellier - VP Aerospace & Defense, Dassault Systèmes

For the last 17 years, Michel J. Tellier, vice president, Aerospace & Defense, Dassault Systèmes, has been helping Aerospace &Defense companies of all sizes grow their businesses and be more responsive to their customers’ needs. A mechanical engineer by training, Tellier launched his career with Bombardier Aerospace where he led the Canadian company’s transition to a 3D digital design-based aircraft-develoment process. He has extensive experience in the implementation of Product Lifecycle Management and global supply chain collaboration. Tellier recently sat down with former Aviation Week & Space Technology Editor-in-Chief Tony Velocci to discuss the state of the A&D industry, including the challenges and opportunities.

Extract

Aviation Week & Space Technology’s recent Top-Performing Companies study revealed that U.S. companies are investing relatively little of their own resources in independent research and development, as a percentage of total revenues, compared with European A&D companies. Is there still a place for such investment, given the current emphasis on affordability and industry’s increased aversion to risk?

There are different ways to measure the value of a company. One measure is the value of its human capital. Engineers like to innovate and create new products. If you are not doing things to attract and maintain the best talent, that is a poor testament to where your business will end up. There is an argument to be made for investing more, rather than less on Independent Research & Development (IR&D) to create a culture of excellence.

Also, innovative, top-performing companies are not defined by their products as much as they are defined by their people. And if you are not providing an environment for them to innovate, you will not attract the best engineers. Google and some other companies are going to great lengths to attract the best and brightest. The aerospace industry is struggling to attract top engineering and technical people in critical areas.

Attracting the best people is the first step toward building the foundation to achieve operational excellence. Second is investing in science and technology. If you underinvest in R&D, you will not create the next generation of products that allow you to differentiate yourself from your competitors and grow your business. Winning more business is not about what you did in the past; it’s about what kind of new innovation and technology you can bring to the future. That is true differentiation. You are not going to differentiate your business by simply repackaging what you did yesterday. I believe companies that are not aggressively investing [their own resources] in R&D eventually will have trouble surviving.

What lessons, if any, do you think A&D companies could glean from businesses in other industry sectors?

There are lessons in the automotive sector. Their ability to capture the imagination of customers is what drives their success or failure. The difference, of course, is that they market and sell products produced in vast quantities, and A&D is just the opposite.

What is the missing ingredient that generally characterizes under-performing companies in Aerospace & Defense?

I’ll answer the reverse: top performing companies usually have a focus on the future and focus their investment in new areas of technology. This process—letting go of previous-generation products and creating the next generation—is essential to remaining relevant and ensuring your long term future.

We use Product Lifecycle Management (PLM) software to help our customers feel more at ease outside their comfort zones. We just invested several billion dollars to create what we call the 3DEXPERIENCE platform, which is the next generation PLM software aimed at optimizing product creation. We believe it represents the state of the art, and we are now deploying it to customers in multiple industries, including A&D.


[...]

Our goal is to help our customers to be as efficient as possible in creating new products and getting as much mileage out of their R&D investment as possible.

Michel Tellier VP Aerospace & Defense, Dassault Systèmes