全球领袖系列

对话 GKN 航天及陆地系统首席执行官 Marcus Bryson

自 1993 以来,GKN Aerospace 一直在收购具有高精密制造、飞机结构和材料技术丰富专业经验的企业,从而打造一家全球最具实力的原始设备制造商 (OEM) 供应商。在首席执行官 Marcus Bryson 的领导之下,GKN 实现了大幅增长。1 月份,他将成为英国最大航天/国防/安全/太空组织 ADS Group 的总裁;同时,他还将担任具有重大战略意义的英国航空航天发展伙伴关系的联席主席。在接受《航空周刊与空间技术》前任主编 Tony Velocci 的采访中,Marcus Bryson 探讨了 GKN 的未来、将发挥的领导作用,并分享了他对英国国防行业的展望。

摘要

航天行业与其他行业部门一样能够获得同样的竞争力,尤其在 GKN 从事经营的市场。 GKN 文化中的什么将其与该领域的其他方面区别开来?

GKN 起步时非常卑微,但我们始终努力做到保持我所谓“小公司 DNA”。我们精益求精,而且非常灵敏,这使得组织可以快速做出决策。我们的成长过程中,维护这种文化真地非常重要。

GKN 的另一独特特征是我们将很大比例的收入用于技术开发,而结果证明这不负所望。我们始终拥有相当良好的工程背景。我们的客户越来越将我们生产的技术当作重要区分因素。

 

如今,航天业务环境越来越具有挑战性,同时客户对其所有供应商所提供性能水平的要求越来越高。 您认为 GKN 如何适应这种恶劣环境?该公司成功的最好证据是什么?

十几年前,某些客户衡量了供应商的表现并认为其已满足预期,而无论供应商在 8 月 1 日还是在 8 月 31 日交付产品。无论哪种方式,您仍在框中获得一个对勾。我们已远远超越那个时候。这并不像汽车行业部门,供应商要在特定日期内用四小时时间交付一个窗户。因此,航天行业已发生根本转变。在英国,航天行业的精神就是加工车间的精神。GKN 已良好适应新环境并且致力于成为世界一流制造商。

您对相对低风险的已应用研发的技术支出有多少?对更具颠覆性的技术的投资有多少?

我们非常重视这两方面。在应用技术方面,我们正在寻找更具成本效益的生产产品的方法。 在颠覆性方面,在对商用航空事业愈加重要的复合材料等领域,我们正在进行大量投资。多年来,这两方面进步很慢,但情况正在快速改变。下一个巨大迭代将伴随新一代单走道飞机而来。

我们都不知道准确的时间,但我们知道它将是复合材料的飞机。但是在这之前,围绕复合材料的制造和应用一定会有一些颠覆性技术的进步。这些技术目前还太昂贵且生产时间太长。机身制造商将着眼于一个月 50 个的构建率。如果使用如今制造的复合材料,您将无法保持该生产率。因为需要太多资本和能源。 我们将不得不以全新的方式看待复合材料制造。

近期,我们在英国启动了一个项目,目标是制造比金属机翼便宜的复合材料机翼。它是否完全不同? 我可以告诉您的是 [...]

该行业将继续发展,公司适应转变的速度越快,他们获得成功的几率就越大。转变和创新速度慢的公司将无法生存。

Marcus Bryson GKN 航天及陆地系统首席执行官

Global Leaders Series

A conversation with Marcus Bryson, Chief Executive of Aerospace and Land Systems, GKN

Since 1993, GKN Aerospace has been acquiring businesses with expertise in high-precision manufacturing, aerostructures, and materials technologies to build one of the world’s most capable suppliers to original equipment manufacturers (OEM). Much of GKN’s growth has taken place under the leadership of Chief Executive Officer Marcus Bryson. In January, he will become president of ADS Group, the UK’s premier aerospace/defense/security/space organization — a position he will take up alongside his role as co-chair of the strategically important UK Aerospace Growth Partnership. In the following interview with Tony Velocci, former editor-in-chief of Aviation Week & Space Technology, Bryson discusses GKN’s future, what it means to be a leader, and his vision for the UK defense industry.


Aerospace is as competitive as any industry sector can get, especially in the markets where GKN does business.  What is it in GKN’s culture that distinguishes it from the rest of the field?

GKN had very humble beginnings, and we’ve always managed to retain what I call a ‘small company DNA.’ We’re quite lean and we’re agile, allowing the organization to make decisions quickly. As we grow, it is really important that we maintain this culture.

The other distinguishing feature about GKN is that a very substantial percentage of our revenue is spent on technology development, which is flourishing. We’ve always had a fairly good engineering background. Increasingly, our customers look upon the technology we produce as a key differentiator.


The aerospace business climate is far more challenging today, with customers demanding higher levels of performance from all of their suppliers.  How do you think GKN is adapting to this tougher environment, and what would you say is the best evidence that the company is succeeding?

Not much more than 10 years ago some customers measured suppliers’ performance as having met expectations whether they delivered product on the 1st of August or the 31st of August. Either way, you still got a tick in the box. We’ve moved way beyond that point. It’s not quite like the automotive sector, where suppliers have a four-hour window on a specific date to deliver. So, aerospace has fundamentally changed. In the UK, the mentality within aerospace was that of a job shop. GKN has adapted well to the new environment and is committed to being a world-class manufacturer.

How much of your technology spending is directed toward relatively low-risk applied R&D, and how much are you investment goes toward more disruptive technologies?

We put a lot of emphasis on both. In applied technology, we are looking at how we can produce products much more cost-effectively.  On the disruptive front, we are making a significant investment in areas composites, which are becoming more important to commercial aviation. For years, they were slow to advance but that is rapidly changing. The next big iteration will come with the next generation of single- aisle aircraft. 

None of us know the exact timing, but it will be a composite aircraft. Before that happens, though, there will have to be some disruptive technology advances around the manufacturing and application of composites. They currently are too expensive and take too long to produce. Airframe manufacturers will be looking at build rates of 50 a month and you can’t sustain that rate of production using composites the way they are made today. It is too capital- and energy-intensive.  We will have to look at composites manufacturing in a radically new way.

We recently launched a project in the UK with the goal of manufacturing a composite wing that’s cheaper than a metal wing. Will it be radically different?  I can tell you that [...]

The industry will continue to evolve, and the quicker companies can adjust to change, the better their chances of success. Companies who are slow to change and innovate will not survive.

Marcus Bryson Chief Executive of Aerospace and Land Systems, GKN