全球领袖系列

对话 Kelly Ortberg - Rockwell Collins 总裁兼 CEO

当 Kelly Ortberg 于 2013 年 8 月接任 Rockwell Collins 的总裁时,他的前任 Clay Jones 实际上已经取得了非常辉煌的成绩,成为航天和国防行业最具效率、最为人景仰的 CEO 之一。 但是 Ortberg 已经做好了准备;在准备接任的几年当中,Ortberg 在帮助形成业务战略方面发挥了关键作用,而这些战略在 Jones 退休时已部署到位。

作为一位机械工程师,Ortberg 同时负责了商业和政府方面的运营。 他还领导启动了 Rockwell 的 Pro Line Fusion 集成航空电子设备系统,该系统自 2007 年推出以来已被 15 种飞机平台所选用。 此后,他被选任为 CEO。 《航空周刊及空间技术》前任总编 Tony Velocci 最近与 Ortberg 进行了长时间会谈,探讨了他为 Rockwell Collins 所设定的目标以及对行业的看法。

摘要

长期以来,Rockwell Collins 都被视为航天与国防行业的一家典范公司,这源于他们的资本回报率、工作效率和领导能力。 一般来说,绩效不佳的公司都欠缺哪些要素?

一家公司绩效欠佳的原因有很多种,但普遍都存在两大主要原因:对终端市场缺乏了解,对客户缺乏了解,或两者都不了解。 正因为如此,我们才会继续在研发上加大投资:不仅仅是为了技术领先,还为了更密切地贴近我们市场上的客户。 但是这样的目的并不仅仅是为了开发出一些出色的小部件;要想保持高水平的运营绩效,还需要取得客户的信任,让他们明白在哪些方面可以依靠我们,尤其是在飞机开发计划上。 目前,我们在研发上的投入约占我们收入的 18-20%。

航天与国防行业一度曾经是转型技术的代名词。 在当前强调价格适宜性以及行业日益增强的规避风险心理环境下,这一行业是否仍然有必要作出此类投资?

我想是的。 我们确信自己涉入到转型技术的一个实例就是溶断传感器和数字数据库,从而将了解情况并确保飞行员安全。 某些与互联网相关的技术也将提供转型证明,并开放各种类型的机遇以为航空旅客提供新服务及改善的服务。 但是航空航天业的技术转型还有一个角色,您必须在其当今存在的市场环境之间实现平衡。 这不再是不惜一切代价发展技术的时代了。 客户希望能够在预算范围内获得最大的价值。

航天与国防公司可以从本行业以外的同类最佳公司身上学习到什么经验?

有太多的事我们都想自己尝试完成。 航天与国防行业尝试开发的独立解决方案过多,给他们造成很大负担。 很奇怪的是,我相信新的 [国防部] 预算将会推动文化变革,并且最终将使航天与国防行业变得更具工作效率,同时有可能减少自行负担的工作量。 与此同时,我们正在变得越来越全球化,这也要求所有航天与国防公司更好地理解如何利用地理分布更为分散的供应链来满足更广泛的市场。 这样也同样将改变我们行业的文化。

 

[...]

在努力了解客户以及他们在某些情况下的需求方面,我们确实做得不错,从而使交付的解决方案能够解决长期困扰他们的问题。

Kelly Ortberg Rockwell Collins 总裁

Global Leaders Series

A conversation with Kelly Ortberg - President and CEO, Rockwell Collins

When Kelly Ortberg took the reins as president of Rockwell Collins in August 2013, he had big shoes to fill—those of Clay Jones, one of the aerospace and defense industry’s most effective and most admired CEOs. But Ortberg was prepared; for years leading up to the succession, Ortberg played a pivotal role in helping to shape the business strategies that were in place when Jones retired.          

A mechanical engineer, Ortberg ran both the commercial and governmental operations. He also led the launch of Rockwell’s Pro Line Fusion integrated avionics system, which has been selected for more than 15 aircraft platforms since its introduction in 2007. He has since been elected CEO. Former Aviation Week & Space Technology Editor-in-Chief Tony Velocci recently sat down with Ortberg for a lengthy conversation about his goals for Rockwell Collins and his thoughts about the industry.

Extract

Rockwell Collins has long been viewed as one of the aerospace and defense industry’s model companies—based on return on invested capital, productivity, leadership. What is the missing ingredient that generally characterizes under-performing companies?

There are many reasons why a company might be a poor performer, but the two main reasons are they either lost sight of their end market, or they lost sight of their customer, or a combination of both. That is why we continue to invest heavily in R&D: to advance our technologies and stay very close to our customers in our market space. But it is not just about having the best widget; sustaining a high level of operational performance also requires having your customers’ trust and knowing that they can depend on you— particularly on airplane development programs. Currently we invest 18-20% of revenue on R&D.

At one time, A&D was synonymous with transformational technologies. Is there still a place in this industry for such investment, given the current emphasis on affordability and industry’s increased aversion to risk?

Oh, I think so. An example of where we believe transformational technology in which we are involved is fusing sensors and digital databases to provide an unprecedented level of situational awareness and safety for pilots. Some Internet-related technologies also will prove transformational and open up all sorts of opportunities to provide new and improved services for air travelers. But while there remains a role for transformational technology in aviation and aerospace, you have to balance it with the market environment that exists today. It’s no longer about technology at any costs. Customers are looking for best value within budget constraints?

What lessons could aerospace and defense companies learn from the best in class outside this industry?

We try to do too much ourselves. The A&D industry burdens itself with trying to develop too many unique solutions. In a strange kind of way, I believe the new [Defense Dept.] budget probably will drive cultural change and ultimately lead to behaviors that allow A&D to be more productive and less inclined to do too much ourselves. At the same time, we’re all becoming more global, which is going to require all A&D companies to better understand how to address broader markets with more geographically dispersed supply chains. That too will change the culture of our industry.

 

[...]

 

We do a really good job of trying to understand our customers and what they want—in some cases, delivering solutions that solve problems they have a difficult time articulating.

Kelly Ortberg President, Rockwell Collins