全球领袖系列

对话 Embraer 总裁兼 CEO Frederico Curado

2007 年,Frederico Curado 被任命为 Embraer 的总裁兼 CEO,Embraer 是继波音和空中客车的业界第三大飞机制造商。 Frederico Curado 在 Embraer 陷入困境,努力适应极为艰难的商业环境 - 不断涌现的竞争对手、迅速的技术变革、产品生命期变短、油价上涨使许多客户受到沉重打击及起源于美国影响全世界的金融危机时 走马上任,担当领导职务。 在接下来接受《航空周刊与空间技术》前任总编 Tony Velocci 的采访中,Curado 谈论了他的部分管理哲学及他如何试图改变公司文化。

摘要

自 2000 年起 Embraer 在商务航空领域成为竞争者并推出莱格赛 600 型号飞机,此后它一直被看作是市场上的颠覆性力量。 Embraer 与其竞争对手有何区别?

我们的核心价值之一 - 胆魄就是重要区别。 我们有着良好的流程可识别市场机遇,开发定制化产品以满足一系列市场要求,并提供较对手极具竞争力的价格。 当然,这些不仅需要了解目标方向。 还需要具有实现它的能力。 例子包括军用 Tucano、教练机、KC390 军用运输机、飞鸿 100 和飞鸿 300 飞机。 我们最近几年在质量、生产效率和工程样机方面进步尤其显著。

Embraer 怎样确保将重心放在流程和技术创新?

首先,我们进行长期的未来 10 年、15 年投资。 其次,我们的 P3 计划由 450 个工作单元构成,并由来自不同职能领域的人员组成,他们的工作是推动创造力和持续的流程改进。 第三,我们频繁利用被一些人称为“站外”的地点,让员工聚集并讨论新想法和创新点子,帮助将我们的投资引向富有技术创新的研发或初创公司。 把它看作是公司内部的知识社区。 该计划称为 Innova。 我尝试将所有工作化为流程,而创新更是一个流程。

您未来的战略重心是什么?

首先要保持员工敬业、有干劲、专注于议程的精神。 我们实现这一重心了吗? 没有,但事实上,它对所有公司而言是一个永不停息的过程。 第二个战略重心是多样化。 十年前,我们基本上经营单一产品 - 支线飞机。 国防算是我们的兼项业务。 我们在 2000 年进入商务航空市场。 今天,我们在商务、民用和国防航空细分市场领域服务客户,提供售后服务和全球客户支持,并拥有极佳的品牌知名度。 我们将继续发展上述全部三项核心业务。 第三个战略重心是 [...]

供应商越了解客户需要,客户越能更好地了解供应商承担的风险 。

Frederico Curado Embraer 总裁兼 CEO

Global Leaders Series

A conversation with Frederico Curado - President & CEO, Embraer

In 2007, Frederico Curado was appointed President and CEO of Embraer, the aerospace industry’s third largest aircraft manufacturer, after Boeing and Airbus. Curado stepped into his leadership role at a time when Embraer was in dire straits and struggling to adapt to an extremely tough business environment—emerging competitors, rapid technological changes, product cycles that were growing shorter, high oil prices that were hammering many of its customers, and a financial crisis that had its roots in the U.S. but had worldwide effects. In the following interview with Tony Velocci, former editor-in-chief of Aviation Week & Space Technology, Curado discusses parts of his management philosophy and how he has tried to change the company’s culture.


Embraer has been widely viewed as a disruptive force in the marketplace ever since the company became a player in the business aviation segment in 2000, with the introduction of the Legacy 600 jet. What differentiates Embraer from its competitors?

Boldness, one of our core values, has a lot to do with what you are talking about. We have a very good process for identifying market opportunities and developing products absolutely customized to meet a set of market requirements at an extremely competitive price point vis-a-vis our competition. Of course, it takes more than just knowing what to do. You also must have the ability to do it well. Examples include our Tucano military, trainer, KC390 military transport aircraft, and Phenom 100 and Phenom 300 jets. In recent years, in particular, we have evolved tremendously in terms of our quality, production efficiency and engineering prototyping.

What is Embraer doing to make sure that it maintains a tight focus on process and technology innovation?

First, we are investing for the long term—10, 15 years in the future. Second, our P3 program is comprised of 450 work cells made up of people from different functional areas, and their job is to drive creativity and continuous process improvement. Third, we make frequent use of what some people may refer to as ‘offsites’ where people get together to discuss new and innovative ideas to help direct our investments, whether it’s in R&D or startup companies that can be a great source of technology innovation. Think of it as harnessing communities of knowledge inside the company. The program is called Innova. I try to ground everything in processes, and innovation is nothing if not a process.

Looking ahead, what are your strategic priorities?

The first one is our people—keeping them engaged and highly motivated, focused on our agenda. Are we there? No, but realistically, that is a never-ending process for all companies. The second strategic priority is diversification. A decade ago, fundamentally we were a single-product company— regional jets. Defense was a little business on the side. We entered the business aviation market in 2000. Today, we serve customers in the business, commercial and defense aviation segments, and provide after sales services and support to customers worldwide, and we have very good brand awareness. We will continue to grow all three of these core businesses. The third strategic priority is [...]

The more that suppliers understand what their customers require, and the more that customers understand the risks that their suppliers are taking, the better.

Frederico Curado President & CEO, Embraer