全球领袖系列

对话 Bob Stevens - 洛克希德马丁公司执行总裁

作为全球最大的航天/国防承包商以及知名机构 Skunk Works 的母公司,从 SR-71 开始,洛克希德马丁公司就一直负责开发众多最具创新性和未来感、整个世界都前所未闻的平台。 但是在公司的长期变革中也遇到过各种各样的困难,有些甚至威胁到了公司的生存。 上世纪九十年代末,在经历短期内的多项并购之后,公司似乎失去了关注目标,并且摊子也铺得过过大而造成难以管理。 Bob Stevens 正是在这个时候被任命为首席财务官,在后冷战时代引领行业最重大的一次转型。

从 2004 年到 2013 年,Stevens 担任了总裁兼 CEO,现在则是执行总裁。 在与航空周刊及空间技术前任总编 Tony Velocci 的访谈(Dassault Systemes 领导力系列的第二篇)中,Stevens 分享了自己对客户体验的看法、平衡短期和长期目标的困难,以及如何定义领导力。

摘要

航天业客户的需求近年来增长极快。 面对这些新期望,洛克希德马丁公司作了哪些尝试来回应?

客户的需求和期望会迅速发生改变。 就在不久以前,我们的政府客户还要求实现技术转型,也就是跨越整整一代的技术。 为实现这一目标,我们的行业经过了彻底重组,将更多资源分配给研发部门,加快开发更大胆的概念,承担更大的风险,同时进一步推动文化发展。 而现在对我们的要求又变得大为保守,我们必须放弃跨越式的探索,将注意力集中在仅仅“够好”的技术上以降低成本,并且更应关注价格是否适宜。 本行业的这一变化非常之大,需要投入大量的时间和精力。 宣布政策变化对政府来说是一件很容易的事,但是公司执行起来就没那么轻松了。 在这一新课题面前,我认为洛克希德马丁公司一直都走在行业前列。

您对最佳客户体验有何想法?

当客户能够成功实现其愿景时。 很难做到在任何时候都让每位客户完全满意。 但是,我们能够做到聆听他们的困难、了解我们应该如何分配资源,从而使其具有实现愿景所需的能力,同时运用我们的经验和能量助其成功。 我们取得成功的标准是我们的客户成功。

如何定义领导力?

领导力是指让组织作好变革准备并克服不确定性以带领完成变革的能力。 领导人了解企业的本质、信念及其原因。 他们会审视我们所生活的世界以及未来的发展方向。 接下来,他们会提出自己的观点、做好资源储备、准备人力资源、制定各项标准、对技术和人力进行投资并刺激和鼓励他人,以促进企业繁荣发展,并为实现一系列精心设计的未来目标作出贡献。 洛克希德马丁公司的领导人能够很好地做到这一点,因为我们一直在全力关注领导力发展的过程。 能够在这样的团队中与一群非凡的人共事,我感到无比骄傲。

 

[...]

只要能够为客户提高质量和降低成本,为员工做到提高工作环境安全性,同时还能制造出更出色的产品,无论意见来自何处,我们都乐于接受。

Bob Stevens 洛克希德马丁公司执行总裁

Global Leaders Series

A conversation with Bob Stevens - Executive Chairman, Lockheed Martin

As the world’s largest aerospace/defense contractor and the parent of the famed Skunk Works, Lockheed Martin has been responsible for many of the most innovative, futuristic platforms the world has ever seen, starting with the SR-71. In the company’s long evolution, however, the enterprise also has experienced difficulties serious enough to threaten its viability. In the late 1990s, after completing multiple mergers in a short period, the company seemed to lack focus and was seen in some circles as too big to manage. That is when Bob Stevens was promoted to Chief Financial Officer and led one of the industry’s most dramatic turnarounds in the post-Cold War era.

From 2004 through 2013, Stevens served as Chairman and CEO, and is now Executive Chairman. In the following interview with former Aviation Week & Space Technology Editor-in-Chief Tony Velocci—the second in Dassault Systemes’ Leadership series—Stevens shares his thoughts on the customer experience, the challenge of balancing short and long term goals, and how he defines leadership.  


Aerospace customers have grown more demanding in recent years.  How is Lockheed Martin trying to respond to these new expectations?

The demands and expectations from our customers can and do change rapidly.  Not long ago, our government customers wanted transformational technologies; technology that would skip a generation.  To achieve that goal, our industry fundamentally retooled, allocating more resources to R&D, accelerating more bold concepts, taking on more risk, and pushing the culture to reach far.  Now we have been asked to be much more conservative, to abandon leap-ahead exploration and focus on technology that’s “good enough,” to reduce costs and focus on affordability.  For industry, this change is dramatic and requires substantial time and attention.  It is much easier for the government to declare a change in policy than it is for companies to implement that change.  I think Lockheed Martin has been the industry leader in driving ahead on this new course.

What is your idea of the optimum customer experience?

When the customer is successful in their mission.  It is very hard to have any one customer at any one time completely satisfied.  However, we can give them the capabilities they need to accomplish their mission by listening to what their challenges are, and understanding how we can allocate resources and apply our experience and energy to contribute to their success.  If our customers are successful, we are successful.

What is the definition of leadership?

Leadership is the ability to prepare an organization for change and direct it through uncertainty.  Leaders understand the essence of the enterprise, what it believes in, and why.  They assess the world in which we live and what it’s apt to look like in the future.  They then bring their perspective forward, lay in the resources, prepare the workforce, set the standards, invest in technologies and people, and inspire and motivate others so the enterprise will prosper and contribute to a very defined set of goals in the future.  The leaders at Lockheed Martin have been able to do that very, very well because we fully immersed ourselves in the process of leadership development.  I could not have been more proud to serve on this team of extraordinary people.



If we can improve quality and lower costs for our customers, make the work environment safer for our employees, and create a better product, we will incorporate an idea from wherever we find it.

Bob Stevens Executive Chairman, Lockheed Martin