Techniques to Solve Challenging Contact Problems with Abaqus

On March 25, 2014 10:30 (GMT+5.5)

Join us for this FREE one-hour eSeminar. Register below for the live seminar in your time zone.

Contact interactions between different parts play a key role when simulating bolted assemblies, manufacturing processes, dynamic impact events, and various other systems. It’s essential to capture these interactions to solve many engineering problems. SIMULIA has developed state-of-the-art contact modeling capabilities in Abaqus. This eSeminar will highlight some of the key techniques.

Attend this seminar to learn the latest strategies for solving difficult contact problems with Abaqus. Topics include:

  • Advantages of the general contact capability
  • How to obtain accurate contact pressures
  • Tips for improving convergence
  • Use of the implicit dynamics procedure to improve robustness
  • How to properly represent physical details associated with contact


This eSeminar will be held live on March 25, 2014 at multiple times. Select the time zone that is most convenient for you.




Register for broadcast #1:

10:30 am IST (India)
1:00 pm SGT (Singapore)
1:00 pm SGT (Perth,Australia)
3:00 pm AEDT (Sydney,Australia)

Sureshkumar Muthukutty, Technical Specialist, SIMULIA India

Register for broadcast #2:

2:00 pm UTC (London)
3:00 pm CET (Paris)
9:00 am EST (U.S.)

John Lewis, Senior Services Manager, SIMULIA Erie

Register for broadcast #3:

12:00 pm PST (U.S.)
3:00 pm EST (U.S.)

John Lewis, Senior Services Manager, SIMULIA Erie

Instructor for Broadcast 1

Sureshkumar Muthukutty, Technical Specialist, SIMULIA India

Sureshkumar Muthukutty is a Technical Specialist for the SIMULIA brand of Dassault Systemes India Private Ltd. He has more than seven years of experience in the simulation domain and specializes in the field of Process Automation and Customization of Interactive products. Sureshkumar regularly interacts with members of the simulation community to help them make the best use of SIMULIA products for solving real world problems, through training and support. His work spans multiple industries and areas in the fields of solid and structural mechanics.

Instructor for Broadcast 2 and 3

John Lewis, Senior Services Manager, SIMULIA Erie

John Lewis is currently the Senior Services Manager in the SIMULIA Erie office. He has 15 years of experience in Finite Element Modeling and has performed and managed a wide array of projects ranging from complex system simulations of medical devices and fluid-system components to large off-road tire simulations. In addition, John has overseen and managed several Civil Engineering application projects as well, including the Inner Belt I-90 Bridge project executed in the SIMULIA Erie office. John holds a Bachelor of Science, Mechanical Engineering (BSME) Degree, and a Minor in Mathematics, from the University of Akron.

Contact Us

For more information, please contact us.

Dassault Systemes India Private Limited
Tel: +91 44 43443000
Fax: +91 44 4300 9770
Email: srilatha.parthiban(at)